the funny way I handle my finances

in #life5 years ago

Well I would imagine that a few of you out there can likely relate to what I am about to say because at least to some degree we are all a bunch of nerds in the grand scheme of things. I am perfectly ok with this label.

Anyway, the other day I went to the mall with the explicit purpose of updating my wardrobe just a bit. I am 20kg lighter than I was 18 months ago and most of my shirts don't exactly fit me anymore. I just wanted to find a couple of shirts.

I recently wrote a post about how I can't get on board with today's fashion so that was my first hurdle. However, since there were like 70 clothing stores in this shopping monstrosity, I eventually found some things I liked.


source

Something along the lines of this. Simple, no labels, made of decent materials but not too-over-the-top-hey-look-at-me!-fancy.

After finding a couple of shirts that I liked I looked at the price tag (should have done that first) and the shirts were between 600 to 900 Baht (this is 20 to 30 dollars) and I found myself in a real conundrum. I do not like to spend money on clothes and particularly in Thailand, this is what I consider to be on the high-end of what I would spend on a shirt. You see, for the past 10 years or so if a shirt cost more than $10, there was no chance I was going to buy it. Normally I paid around $3-4 per shirt.

So I mulled around the store a bit and came to the eventual conclusion that I wasn't in love with the shirts and therefore couldn't justify the expense. I went to leave the mall defeated, with no shirts at all.

On the way down the escalator a promotional sign caught my eye in a store window. A promotion that was going to end in 3 days. I had to check this out and I was talking to the sales-lady for all of 5 minutes before I was headed to the ATM to withdraw a bunch of money.

56415686_425319881575557_8898660685232209920_n.jpg

So there you have it folks. I am completely unwilling to spend 600 baht on a shirt that I like because it is too expensive. However, while putting in about 10% of the amount of thought I quickly spent 10,000 Baht on a PS4 because: Priorities.

I can wear whatever shirt I want in front of my TV while playing God of War (a game i have been looking forward to for years) or maybe not even wear a shirt at all.

Are you like me? Do your financial decisions not make a whole lot of sense also? I can't be the only one who thinks like this.

Sort:  

You are not alone xD
My priorities are good food, whisky and game stuff haha

I should buy some new jeans but I also need a ps4 ... Well I think I will buy the ps4 first hrhrhr

600-900 Baht for a shirt is also a bit too much. I bought some shirts last year for 100 in one of these clothing only malls.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't spend much on clothes,but then when I find something I like I buy it. The last clothes I bought was 3 years a go or so and now need new jeans again.My old ones are falling apart and the patches are just ripping away from the fabric. I am scared if I do a big fart they will just disintegrate, that is how bad they are now. I think if you find a couple of shirts you like ,don't look at the price and just buy them otherwise you will never buy clothes again. The prices will just keep going up and you will be even more screwed.

My financial decision making is great, since I have barely any financials to speak of. I just never buy anything fun or nice and rot, like a true intellectual. I'm clearly a masturbation financial guru when it comes to spending money carefully.

On a side note, if you want a friend on gaystation 4 let me know and I'll add you.

i need to find you on discord

Here's my discord name/number, dood.

TheMurderBerry#9844

You know, you can just add me on PSN if you'd rather do that, I don't mind posting my gamertag on here.

So there you have it folks. I am completely unwilling to spend 600 baht on a shirt that I like because it is too expensive. However, while putting in about 10% of the amount of thought I quickly spent 10,000 Baht on a PS4 because: Priorities.

lol I can identify perfectly with the first part, because I did not spend much when buying clothes too, and I have a system of choice similar to the one you mention, however, although I personally would not buy a PS4, mainly because I have never been good with video games, I can feel identified, because probably I was taken a similar decision but with another object.

Thumbs Up.gif

Haha, you are just like me, man. I hate spending money on clothes. But games... Now that is another story.

Since God of War 4 released I am flirting with the idea of getting a PS4 (again, left mine in Germany when I moved here).

Mortal Kombat 11 and Days gone would be games I want to play as well...

I usually shop on the nightmarkets for cloth so spending 600 - 900 baht for a shirt....no thank you

yeah, when you live in South East Asia the prices of clothes that are charged at malls seem extortionate (but i understand why the have to do so)

I woulda made the same purchase. Chances are I’ll get shorts for my birthday anyway.

Posted using Partiko iOS

😁😁 to answer the question: Yes, I am sometimes.

This story of yours reminded me of my old self, when I went to buy a pair of jeans because I needed them and came home with an Oxford dictionary because I also needed it. 😁
Jokes aside, I understand you, I am the same, I'm not willing to pay double or triple just because a clothes maker is famous or because that is trendy.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Sometimes my financial decisions are often not justified because being a young person I'm expected to go on with fashion trend because these are like the only thing that differentiates younger and older people and sometimes I wish I'd use the money to buy far useful things

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71