$10 burgers in USA, where and where not to do it

in #life5 years ago

For someone like me, I find it completely absurd that someone would pay $10 for a burger anywhere. To me a burger is a food that has always been cheap and always should be and therefore $10 is too much. Keeping my opinion in mind, I want to talk about 2 places that have $10 burgers. One of them I feel is worth it, the other not.

orig.jpg

Prior to this trip I knew it was possible to get an expensive burger, but this would normally incorporate being at a sit-down restaurant and likely having a waiter / waitress and cloth napkins and what not. Apparently, expensive burger places are on the rise in the US, and while they are good, I am more of a price vs. performance kind of dude. I need to have a cost-benefit and in my mind, of the two expensive burger places we attended, only one of them is worth it.

Not worth it: 5 Guys

restaurant-5guys-burgers.jpg

I expect to catch some flak for this opinion but before you decide to slay me I want you to understand that I think their burgers ARE GOOD, also think Maine Rock Lobster is good, but I'm not going to pay $60 for it either. 5 guys is "blowing up" as a chain in the US, particularly on the East Coast, and they do pretty well, which is surprising to me. Even a basic burger here is going to be around $7 and if you want fries and a drink, you are likely well into the $12 area. The place is self-service too and although they keep the place clean and the food was tasty, i just don't think it is a good value at all.

4ed6d3f13f0de.image.jpg

This establishment focuses mostly on the basic burger and dogs with bacon. There are a few other options like hot dogs and chicken sandwiches and I actually appreciate their small, simple menu. I just think they are overpriced.

Sorry 5-guys, but I wont be back, and I don't think you are worth it.


Worth it: Burger Bach

I want to be completely transparent. Burger Bach has the opportunity to be considerably more expensive than 5-guys but I am basing the cost on simply the price of their burgers, not the craft beers and wine etc.

14455294-1424274405-640x360.jpg

Burger Bach's burgers range from $8 - $15 or so (it might have been a bit higher) and they also do not come with fries, but I feel as though the burgers were a bit more exotic and well, worth it. They had fusion Asian burgers, they had strange burgers that had peanut butter on them (which I have heard is amazing,) and of course they had the classics. I ordered a burger called the "West Coaster" and it was fantastic.

50d3532483664.image.jpg

One major problem with this establishment is that it is quite localized. It only exists in 5 cities on the East Coast of the USA. However, there was a time when 5-guys and even McDonalds was just as localized so keep an eye on this one, it will expand, i can assure you. The one we were in was slammin busy at 2 in the afternoon with no sign of it letting up.

Burger Bach might very well be the most amazing burger experience I have ever had in my life. Just tasty as can be from start to finish. If you find yourself near one, don't miss out on this chance. A one-of-a-kind experience.

Do you have a favorite burger place? I'd love to hear about it if you do. As always, your comments are appreciated and thanks for reading.

Sort:  

I think this could have included more than 2 places, I remember I went to the USA and there were many many burger places, like every corner had a different buther fastfood restaurant....

you are certainly correct. However, i have only been here for 10 days and we only went to a burger place twice. I am more of a Tex Mex fan anyway.

"they had strange burgers that had peanut butter"

I love burgers and peanut butter, I have to try this.

the people who love them swear by them. i will be having one for sure

A $10 burger is pretty much the norm around these parts when you find a place that is not a fast food joint. I actually like 5-guys but that really us a fast food joint which seems to get my vote because all the damn fries you get. I like how they cook their burgers using the super high temperature grill, and squishing the fat our to get some real flames going.

Burger Bach looks interesting indeed and I have never heard of it before. Too bad it won't likely make it to my neck of the woods.

Around here, many of the fancy foodie restaurants have 10$+ burgers and, having spoken to the owners at each, they all seem to be on the same vein......sous vide. Basically, they hand make the patties, vacuum pack it, and then cook it really slowly over low temperature in hot water. The pressure and gradual cooking really makes for great flavour and activation of the herbs and spices they put in.

So, I hope you become one with the righteous $10 burger at the right places.

yes, obviously a lot of people do like 5 guys, and do think it is worth it. I just happen to think it is overpriced.

Agreed.

BTW I powered up the 5 extra steem you sent. I have enough liquid to send 5 back to you if you would like. Let me know and thanks so much for the support!

Yea man I agree with everything on this post! After being in Asia for a few years, when I came back to London I went to get a burger and was shocked that £10-£15 was the price! I paid around $20usd+ for a burger, fries and a drink... it was good but too expensive.

I agree with the 5guys statement. It’s blowing up back home in England and everyone wants to go there, and too be honest, it’s not as amazing as everyone goes on about! It’s kind of expensive and not as ‘incredible’ as the hype suggests. I went to a Carl’s jr in San Francisco a year or so back and paid like $20 for a burger and fries! I think as I was in SF they jacked up the prices...

Have you been to in and out? I hear good things about it, but I have never tried. When I’m in California in December I will have to try. I’m now into my 9th month in Asia since being home last and craving some western food sooooo much!

as far as i know they don't really have them too much on the east coast, if at all. but all my west coast pals seem to love it!

I will agree that 5 Guys is not worth the money. I have never been impressed with their food.

On a national level, Red Robin has the best and most consistent burgers. Prices are reasonable and their unlimited fries are pretty good!

If you're ever in Boulder, CO, the Dark Horse Saloon makes a good burger for a good price. It's a college hangout, so they keep their prices low to keep the students coming in. Good food in a quirky old building.

If I really want a top notch burger, I will make it myself, fresh ground beef seasoned with garlic and jalapeño, and grilled to perfection. I love cooking at home so I can make it exactly what I want!

I created a digital painting especially for your photo "West Coaster".
In my blog I have some pictures of digital art.

I would really appreciate it if you could find the time to look at it.
Greetings from a newcomer here on Steemit.

nude-art

That is cool, I like what you did here

Thank you very much, I am very happy that you like my picture.

Here in Vancouver BC, I do consider Five Guys to be the best place for burgers if you are in a rush and want fast food. They are really good with the toppings. Indeed it is pricier but I feel the difference in the taste. Also, I like the lettuce-wrapped options, which are fantastically done by them.

Wao this burger looks so yummy and tasty.I love to eat zinger.Now in pakistan LFC or Kfc zinger is best zingers in pakistan.I daily eat zinger.Now in pakistan zinger price is 200 Rs.I think us almost 2 doller.Zinger is my favourite.Thanks for sharing this great food.

I honestly don't know. With my exchange rate that is madness for a burger. I probably would try it once though..

Wow @gooddream . the burgers are looking super delicious.... 😊😊😋😋
Yes 10$ a burgers is definitely a costly food but it seems like at five guys , your 10$ is a not s waste. Worth it.

stay healthy and keep posting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17