Specific Professional Benefits of Rising Early

in #life6 years ago

Rise and Grind


I started off this past weekend explaining my overarching reasons for attempting to become an early riser. I’m currently deep into my 2nd week of trying to beat the sunrise which has transitioned nicely from jet lag to a bit of drowsiness and closer and closer to habit. This is already proving to provide a significant boost in my productivity and better regiment overall. In fact, I’ll be attempting my first pre-office workout at 8am today… so…. Wish me luck!

In this post, I wanted to move into the more specific benefits of early rising for professionals. The overall mottos of ‘it’s healtier!’ and ‘it’s more productive!’ are resonating yet ultimately unmotivating catchphrases. I believe people need more tangible benefits. So here’s a list of ‘em as I learn the leg ups.

Impressed Email Recipients and Meeting Participants


I was always impressed when I know an email has been sent to me by someone at 6 or 7 am. At the very least, it proved the discipline of the sender and the seriousness of their response as a priority decision rather than a late-day afterthought. I think there are a lot of nuances expressed when early messages and responses are sent, and I’m liking the enthusiasm this produces on both ends so far.

As a more practical benefit, early rising in the blockchain sector is particularly useful. I can seamlessly schedule calls in Europe and Asia with this schedule with 6am being a cool 6pm in Hong Kong. It makes communication easier, and this is another version of that underlying discipline communicated through early contact.

Easy Workouts


One of the New Year’s resolutions was to maintain a robust workout schedule. Since January, I have enrolled back in a gym but only manage to squeeze an hour or so once a week, usually on the weekends. I typically get back from the office around 7 so I’m usually busted by then. I’m hoping (with today being the first test) that I can frequent the gym with less strenuous sessions but more often.

Easy Breakfasts


On the same note, I’m feeling the resounding benefits of a fuller breakfast rather than a muffin or bagel on the go. I get less crashes around the lunchtime, and my routine involves a slower 15 minutes in the morning to fuel up for the day. I think this will get more significant as I get older.


So those are my specific reasons and rationales for maintaining an early schedule. Let me know if you have some other tips of your own. Steem on!

Sort:  

I remember as a teenager laughing at my Dad for getting up at the crack of dawn. Now the joke is on me, in the last few years I've added another step to my early bird life style. One of the first things I do after getting up is drink a glass of water.

Hydration is key. My father-in-law drinks a half gallon every morning.

Wow, I've got to up my game ;-)

You mean yer not earning a full time living from steem?

I personally like an early routine.... 5.00 a.m. for me... I like to eat breakfast, run early (bit of a pain in Winter... I actually have to twiddle my thumbs waiting for it to get light at 7.30).

And to be sitting down working well before 9.00 is great.

Those eaerly emails I think really do 'send a message' !

Posted using Partiko Android

Almost but not quite :)

Definitely striving to pack in a regular exercise and eating schedule.

Hi @hansikhouse!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.579 which ranks you at #514 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 517).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 304 contributions, your post is ranked at #51.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71