'Call of the wild' | Photo-story.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I have two cats, Coco and Cheekoo. If you remember, a few months ago, I also told you coco's story- how I found her in my backyard, helped her survive and how I brought another cat, Cheekoo to accompany her.

But, since then, I've shared nothing much about them, specially about cheekoo. So, today, I would share something about him as well as what is going on in their lives.

"My relationships with my cats has saved me from a deadly, pervasive ignorance." —William S. Burroughs, The Naked Lunch.

The reason I never shared anything about cheekoo is due to the dilated pupils of his eyes. And, whenever I take his pictures, all he has to flaunt is wide open eyes.. 👀

I've seen that he is usually more alert and aware than my other cat and can detect the slightest of sound and movement easily. However, when it comes to taking the action after being alert, he often delays in it and my other cat acts more quickly.

According to the experts, cat's heightened awareness helps them to cope up with the fear of uncertainty and the potential danger in a better way. That's also what makes their eyes fully dilated, specially if they are alert to their surroundings.

He was born like this.

I brought him at home when he was only two months old. I remember he also had a small dark spot near his nose, which disappeared after sometime.

Looking at him, it was quite easy for me to figure out how alert he always is. He was quick to respond to the sounds, no matter how low and feeble.

And, he also used to spend most of his time learning to climb on the trees and trying to catch the birds there. 🐦🐤 🐦

But, he never succeeded in catching them and always looked disappointed when the birds used to fly 🙀

As the time passed, Cheekoo grew into a proficient hunter with a strong body and courageous heart..🦁 He learned to respond to the outside stimulus faster than ever and became highly skillful at catching everything that moved before his eyes, fearlessly.

I gave him everything he needed to lead a good cat life.. But, as he grew up more and became an adult, he lost all the enthusiasm for ordinary life and obsessively started spending most of his time wandering in the forests, in search of the prey or 'god knows what'..

'Werifesteria' — (v) To wander longingly through the forest in search of the mystery.

'In some mysterious way, woods have never seemed to me to be static things. In physical terms, I move through them; yet in metaphysical ones, they seem to move through me.' — John Fowles

Days passes, but he doesn't come back to the home.

And, when he comes back, he spends most of his time eating, playing and enjoying with Coco who is not yet confident enough to go out with him..

But how long can cats stay at one place? 😀

Soon, It gets boring.. and the urge to wander takes over 🐅

"Uncertainty and mystery are energy of life. Don't let them scare you unduly, for they keep boredom at bay and spark creativity." — R. I. Fitzhenry.

So, in the remaining time, he takes coco everyday to the nearby forest..

encourages her to take risks and explore her fears.

And, when they finally get tired, they find a suitable place to sit.. and look toward the deep forest as if it's calling them.


All of it makes me wonder if the only thing they are here for is— to wander and search that unknown mystery buried deep in their hearts.

"Way down deep, we’re all motivated by the same urges. Cats have the courage to live by them." —Jim Davis (cartoonist, Garfield).


Thanks for reading!


Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 23.78% upvote from us for your 2289 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

You gotta a lovely name for both...and they are adorable ..Steem on 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you like them! Thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your story and photos of Cheekoo are well done. It looks like he quite enjoys his life of wandering. Thank you for sharing!

Thank you! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

He is such a climber
I love that picture of him dangling in the middle of the tree
They wander and you have managed to get some awesome pictures of both of them.... I enjoyed looking at them :)

I also had go out and wander with them to take their pictures 😀 Glad you enjoyed. Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Cute cats, thanks for sharing their story.

Glad you enjoyed. Thanks for dropping by.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome.

Posted using Partiko Android

He is a good-looking cat! Has he been castrated? That usually makes them stay at home more and prevents them from fighting so much with other cats all the time that they are constantly injured

Yeah! He is handsome. But, Castrated? Nooo... What makes you think so?

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't think so, I was saying that because if there is a vet nearby, you should consider getting him castrated. This will stop him wandering around and getting into trouble. My house is a magnet for uncastrated male cats and constant fighting takes its toll on males if they aren't neutered. Your female cat will soon be pregnant, too. Are you ready for multitudes of kittens?

hmm.. I understand. Too many cats can create the havoc in the house. But, I can't get him castrated either. I feel, It would disturb all of his biology and he won't be able to live naturally, as he is supposed to.

Moreover, I also don't know how long we are together. I will have to leave this place after a couple of months and may be, give the cats to somebody else.

I'm sorry to hear that you have to leave. I would not be able to leave my cats behind but all circumstances are different.
Castration doesn't disturb natural biology, male cats really suffer because they are domesticated and the wild existence they had naturally doesn't exist. Instead, they become wanderers that are always hungry and always fighting. They frequently die from the wounds that they receive from fighting and very few of them live past 3-4 years

I was also apprehensive of leaving the cats behind, but then I can't take them with myself either. I'll be travelling from one place to another and, currently, have no permanent home. So, may be, I will give them to someone who would take good care of them.

And, Yeah! You're absolutely right that the healthy wild environment the cats need no longer exists. But, the castration still doesn't sound good to me. It definitely helps to pacify the cats and bring them under control, but wouldn't that make their existence useless?

Because, after all, felines were made to feel their hunger, suffer, wander and discover their destiny through that process. That's how they are supposed to come into contact with the intelligence their wild side has to offer.

However, I would also like to say that it's my personal opinion and I've not much knowledge about the subject.

My cats are all castrated. They still wander, hunt, play and defend their home from other cat-intruders. What they don't do is disappear for days at a time and come back injured or not at all.

Are you travelling for work?

Cheko looks so beautiful and so interesting to read all about him

MOst welcome ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by himalayannomad from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited Community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Hi! @himalayannomad. Your post has been upvoted by @celfmagazine, please consider supporting us to win a delegation of 20,000 STEEM POWER. You just have to follow the instructions below:

Go to the following link: https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/ login with your Steemit account and password and vote for @celfmagazine.

Your support it's very important for us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87