A leafy update

in #life5 years ago

There's a pun in that heading. Friday last week was my first day of freedom away from the rigours of daily employment. Thursday was the last day before my annual leave started. Wednesday was the day that I found out that in six weeks from approximately now I may no longer have to fulfil the current requirements of my current employer.

I've been there before. The last time, I managed to obtain a promotion through the logic of "restructurung". This time it is a little bit different. The restructure is wide sweeping throughout the company, and has seen about a 10% reduction in staffing levels since this began.

Last time, I was incredibly stressed about such an eventuality. This time I'm not. This time it is different. Much different.

Last time, I had just entered a mortgage. I was about to welcome a cat into my life. I didn't have the depicted licence plates.

This time instead of an entire floor of people being written a note about their redundancy and retrenchment benefits, it is surgical. Most teams now consider themselves (according to management) to have a tumurorous growth, which is known as expense.

Therefore, in my team, 20% of people (ie one team member) will be given four weeks to finalise their affairs and to leave the company. That means that there's an 80% chance of staying.

There's no sense of despair in the air, however, as there's not a strong aroma of desire for those impacted to linger like perfume, sweat and vommit. Everyone in the team feels this vibe, and it'll be interesting to see how this plays out.

As I said, I'm not worried at all. While the employment market in my city is rather poor, and I have a mortgage to service, there's always avenues that twist away from every main street.

I'm ready for a breath of fresh perfume that like all scents, will grow faint and unenticing. The musk of an employer is not that of a lover; and there's little point in growing attached to such things.

I have until the 29th of the month away from work, and once my annual leave is exhausted, I'll return to an uncertain workplace and new life challenges.

I look forward to it. In the meantime, expect to see a lot more of me around here. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 100.00% upvote from us for your 21427 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Good luck buddy. If you do end up being offered a package then I hope it is a very nice one.

Until then, enjoy your time off work. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks mate. Making the most of it. Gym. Games, and creating a whole bunch of content for Steem. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Yay! I think? XD Well you seem cheerful about everything so yay XD

A fat cheque answers a lot of questions, particularly for a switched-on cat with a juicy resume.

Congratulations @holoz0r! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

When you're ushered out the door into the hallway and it closes behind you, you'll find yourself in a corridor full of other doors...Open a few...You never know what you may find inside...Seems like you have the right attitude to bring it all together mate. All the best for your time off.

Posted using Partiko Android

I won't resort to kicking any doors down until I have to. I might pull a muscle. I know that behind every door is a train station.

I'm looking forward to what the future brings, even if I have to be a stoic passenger for a little while as the train pulls into station. There'll be plenty of other lines I can wonder down.

You'll be fine, like @mattclarke said, you have a decent CV.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @holoz0r!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.207 which ranks you at #876 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 220 contributions, your post is ranked at #51.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31