New year, new me - New avatar, and a chicken?

in #life5 years ago

This is me, and this will be my avatar for 2019. 2017 and 2018 saw me constantly flaunt my "Steem-Mobile", with the legally issued vanity licence plate of "STEEMIT", inspired by the one and only @mattclarke. Here's a final look at the vehicle, a memory which will soon fade into obscurity for this place with a fairly short retention and attention span. If you've gotten this far before your auto-voter has come along, well, well done.

The car, of course, will remain with the STEEMIT plate until the licence plate agreement ends, and then, I think I'll revert back to a general issue plate in a few years (I've pre-paid the plates, out of my own pocket, for a total of four years). This decision stems from a number of things - STEEMIT Inc's poor leadership and less than concrete plans for the blockchain, and also one of austerity - I don't have unlimited funding to pump into the blockchain.

I also don't have unlimited time to pump in, either, which means that future posts may be more rambly, but I want to focus on giving more of myself away this year. Being more candid. Being more honest. Using the STEEM blockchain a site of catharsis for me, myself, and my words, and being happy with whatever interaction happens to splash across my proverbial bow.

I'm not a boat, but there was some pictures of boats in the new avatar. I had to make that pun. For me. Not for you.

So what's with the chicken?

It's not my chicken, as you can probably guess by the expression on the face of the horrified woman reflected in my glasses. It used to be one of her chickens, until her husband happened to step on its neck (by accident) while disembarking from a ladder.

Since that moment, the poor girl has never quite been the same, shunned by the chooks in the pen, narrowly escaping with its life after being bullied. It was annointed "Special", or "Spesh" for short, and she's a bona-fide assassin of breadly goods, other carbohydrates, huntsman spiders, and well, anything that isn't tied down.

The chicken also shits everywhere with reckless abandon - and doesn't mind being man handled - which is a desirable trait in a chicken.

Bonding with Special

It was very quick. Man meets shower. Man meets huntsman. Man makes a girly shriek, and escapes shower wearing only a robe. Man summons Chicken. Chicken destroys and consumes huntsman spider. Man completes shower.

This is just one of many travel stories to come

I spent a fair bit of time away from home, away from a keyboard, and spent some time behind a camera, inside my mind, and knee deep in various bits of the pacific ocean. As a result, I've got lots of musings cooking up there in my mind, but I won't overwhelm, or barrage everyone with it all at once. That simply wouldn't be fair.

Sort:  

That chicken sounds a lot like the stories I've heard about Rustle

lol @rustle ended up at STINC and they ate him. Times are tough for those only holding a few million STEEM.

Glad to have you back in one piece (assuming you're still in one piece).
@r00sj3 is already worried about our spiders. Not sure if she's met a huntsman before.
They love to live above the driver's sun visor; ready to fall in your lap while driving.
Also, they sprint.

I am still in one piece. Huntsmans should all stay outside and stop other bugs from invading our homes. That's a perfectly reasonable function of them.

Glad to have ya back. We need some Aussie Thunder to represent us in the SM tournaments.

You are still going to play, right?

Yes to the tournaments that are at sensible time zones for us. If there's no tournaments in that area / arena - then no, I won't be losing sleep over it.

Hi @holoz0r!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.066 which ranks you at #1011 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 207 contributions, your post is ranked at #49.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Nice beard... I too have a beard and a chicken!

In my travels I became rather attached to a leech, which I am sure will become something of a motif on my page, and a legend told at the meetings for years to come.

@ned continues to power down. Imagine leaving $1.5m Steem in liquid form, when it could be appreciating!

Thank you for telling me to never power down.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79