Decisions

in #life6 years ago

We all have to make decisions. We all hate to choose between right and wrong and what we often fail to understand is that there usually isn't a "general" right or wrong. It's only about what works. For you, for me. The decision is ours and ours alone.
We can lose ourselves through only one second and that's the time it takes us to find ourselves again, maybe different but still deep down, ourselves.

Decisions - we are the sum of the decisions we make. Or aren't we? Are we, in the end, an entity who just happens to do things? Or do the things we do define our entity? Words. Choices. Voids.
You and me, we're in a void. A dark blue abyss where we float and no hands reach out to catch us, to pull us back to safety, to hold us when we need to be held.
There are no hands, there's only people. People who can help you or no, it's of little matter. And in that moment, you need to learn to hold yourself.
41951346_706248733068660_3808836973016121344_n.jpg
We're told we need to find true north, that we must find, in this uniquely strange existence of ours a way to function that does not depend on anyone else. Because that's like a strand of grass - the moment that outer someone disappears, so do you. You're thrown into this abyss and you may not find yourself.
And so, you learn. You learn to find what makes sense to you. You learn to give the answers you must give yourself in order to survive.
'You'll be fine,' you tell yourself and that voice you should trust. Because there's no one out there who better knows what's going on in your head. Trust the voice and trust yourself.

The decision is yours to make, not his, not hers, not anyone else's that might be. You must not look to them for answers or absolution, because there's none to give. The only people who can help you right now are inside your own head. You can find them or you can be lost forever.

You want to scream because it seems unfair. I understand. You were allowed to believe that there will always be someone out there, to guide you, to tell you what you must do. As children, we believe our parents will always have all the answers, regardless how complicated the question. But they don't. Because they're not their answers. They're ours. They're yours. They're mine.

And you and me, we're the only people who can fix this.

Decide.

With every decision, you die a little and are born anew. By the end, you'll be someone completely different. But with the right decisions, you'll be the one you were always supposed to be.

Decide which voice in your head you can keep alive.

Sort:  

I'm curious...That tattoo...Assuming that's your arm. Care to share?

Yep, it's mine. It's a Motorhead lyric

The one thing you will never lose is the singing in your head.

:)

Very cool. I have some myself but no words...Could never decide upon what to write...

I'm the exact opposite! I have words but few images...I find it hard to decide on those :D
Now I'm curious about your tattoos :o

Hey @honeydue, this should satisfy that curiosity. Left shoulder is neo-tribal. The plan was to go a full sleeve but I never went ahead. it comes down just below t-shirt arm-length and up to my collar bone. It extends all the way around my arm.

Right shoulder is the Fleur de lis - Symbol of France and the Medici of Florence and crest of the Republic of Florence back in the day. It's difficult to see in this image but I don't have any others except the one of me bleeding getting it done...

I may get the fleur de lis made into a shoulder/half-sleeve in the form plate armour over shoulder front and back. I am working on a design at the moment incorporating the existing tattoo. We'll see.

:O
The Medici family of Florence are like my heroes. Well, not precisely heroes, but one of my favorite people in history! That is so awesome! I've always thought the fleur-de-lis would be a beautiful tattoo (I was right, huh?). As for that last bit about the armor plate - wow, you must really be into history. :)

I really like the tribal one as well (and I think it would look amazing in a full-sleeve/half-sleeve). But I think it looks awesome like this too.

Who knows maybe my tattoos will extend further...We'll see.

Yes, you know I'm into history. I find dead people more interesting than live ones mostly. :)

Well, they usually are...And I often wonder why. What happened to us? :/ Maybe back then, the interesting ones had a better chance of standing out since there were, obviously, less people..

There are no bad decisions. It's all hindsight.

I know...That's how I realized it was the right decision :) The only way I would regret it would be hindsight and you can't really trust that, can you?

obviously, hindsight is not a reliable metrics to measure the quality of your decisions by.

Simple wisdom ;-)
Nice read, thank you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10