What if lives

in #life6 years ago

I was only writing a bit earlier about 'what if' scenarios and how our choices are crucial to their existence.

And I was thinking...about what if lives, which is something I've always been against. I've always been of an opinion that there is no point to making up imaginary scenarios about what might have been. Because it isn't like that. I always thought that imagining what your life would be like if only... Is a waste of time.
Quite clearly, that's not your life.
Otherwise, you wouldn't be thinking about it. Different, either for the better or for the worse, but it is.
What would my life be like if I had...more money?
Well, that would only provoke sadness and dissatisfaction with my life. Or perhaps not, but there's no satisfaction in imagining fake lives for yourself.
Well, you might hold this opinion until you want something.
The moment something isn't going according to plan, the old wheels start spinning again.
Now, what would my life be like if I did have that?

And being in that frame of mind, I was all too willing to imagine a world, or rather a multitude of worlds, where our imaginations ruled.
What if we are, in truth, only figments in someone else's imagination? What if someday the dream ends and we all disappear?

Well, then that makes all of us gods. Our imaginations can create anything, any reality. And whatever happens in my own head might be just as true as what we call "reality".

This whole trail of thought was sparked by this quote -

But if I do imagine, what did happen? If what happens in my own head were to be true, who would I be?
Who would you be?

I couldn't help but wonder, if my imagination was not the opposite of reality, but its synonym, how different would my life be? And why?

I felt a bit of a hypocrite, but the writer in me was fascinated - everything that happens in your imagination is real. You're a god. You are a creator of your universe. You can pick your own life, because what you imagine is just as real as "reality".
There's a clear line between fantasy and reality, a difference that we all accept as normal. We all know we can't have everything that's in our head, that just because we want something, that doesn't make it reality.
But what if it did?
fantasy-3361438_960_720.jpg
I feel that's what writers do, in a way, and all artists, they find a gateway to make the things in their head real. The fears and the pain and desires. Now, that's a thought. Think about all the fears you had. They become real, too, not just the good stuff, although you'd be tempted to see it that way.

Now, how different is the reality in your mind from the one out here?

Thank you for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

Hello @honeydue, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks a lot! :)

speculative fiction
if this...then what?
that's what I read for entertainment.
that's what I write.

But isn't all fiction speculative? If X character existed, then what would happen? If Y disaster/invasion/pandemic etc existed, then what?

in a manner of speaking I suppose that would be true.

very good post that you up, it is life and philosophy of history can not be separated.

And what if I say you are one of the Best writer I ever known

Now, how different is the reality in your mind from the one out here?

There is total different between my dream world and the present world am stepping on with my feet, in my imaginary world it is limitless, and can change dimensions at a glance, it's also unpredictable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85