Without Hurting Himself

in #life5 years ago

I was just visiting an exposition about Leonardo da Vinci and read about this parachute he designed, so that man "shall be able to jump from any great altitude without hurting himself". And obviously, thr expression got my attention, the wording.

Because while that may be.possible with a parachute, it doesn't really work in life, does it?

You don't get to jump from wherever you want and not hurt yourself. That's not the way it works - hurting yourself is the price you pay for the jump. Now, was it worth it or no, that's up to you. But you have to get hurt.

However, an interesting difference between parachuting and life is that when you hurt yourself with the parachute, it's often final.
But in life, it isn't.

In life, you fall only to jump from even higher next time. Not always, obviously, but often.

And I have a feeling Leonardo da Vinci understood this perfectly.

Do you?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I spent a while looking through a Da Vinci exhibition when I was in Italy once...I spent hours there. What an amazing fellow he was. Could you even imagine the life he lived with all those amazing and wondrous things in his head? Of course he got to bring many out of that noggin of his too.

Edit: I once jumped my BMX bike off a train platform...I wish I had a parachute although it still would have hurt I think. I learned a valuable lesson...Ego and pride don't always pay off...My mates thought it was hilarious. Lesson learned.

Me too! :D I saw a bigger (better) expo on him in Florence, his hometown, but I agree- every time I come across his stuff I marvel at what an amazing man he was.

Urgh did it hurt a lot? Still, makes for a fun story. MAn, I've been away 5 days and you've changed to nakey profile pics? What else have I missed? :P

🤣 nakey profile pics...Yeah, had to spice things up.

Posted using Partiko Android

Having just read your hat post, don't know how I feel about nakey gnomes, but okay :D :P Anyway, I like it. Summer's here :)

I do not agree with your statement. There are more screwed up people as ever. They might jump again, even higher but are only fooling themselves. Doctors, psychiatrist, prison have there hands full of them and the screwed up society pays the bill in every way. There is no cure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97