Your Boobs are Not to Blame.

in #life5 years ago

Do you ever start thinking up a post and you know just the way you want to write it and it sounds great in your head, but then when you sit down to do it, you've forgotten the exact way you were gonna do it and you're like 'oh man'...well, this just happened to me. i was in the shower and I was thinking up this post and there was this little voice going "shut the fuck up, shut up". Well, let's see with how much of it I managed to get away.
beauty-1319951_960_720.jpg
I have this obsession about the human body and about how we don't really appreciate it. I don't buy into the whole love your body movement because it's been politicized and taken to extremes, as with pretty much anything on this planet.
But I actually think we do not appreciate our bodies enough. Particularly girls my age, who are usually so competitive, always scanning the crowd to see if there's someone prettier than them or whatever. And it's ugly to watch, in my opinion. Instead of being happy as You are, you're always chasing after something different - nicer hair, smaller tummy, bigger boobs. And it's making you sad. Sadness doesn't stem from the fact that you have small boobs, but from the fact that you wish that you didn't. The boobs themselves are not to blame, hence the title for my post.

I often think about how much we hate our bodies, as teens yes, but also as adults, 'cause there are loads of “grown-ups” out there who dislike stuff about themselves. And particularly at this age, I chide myself for thinking such thoughts – thoughts I know I'm gonna regret in 20 years. So, I push myself to love my skin, my legs, everything.
While doing yoga, I felt my thighs under me. I actually felt them. Seriously, do you stop to think about how many times we just take our body for granted? How little we appreciate our muscles, our skin, the way we look, etc?
And we shouldn't do that because one day we'll be old and this body will be behind us and we might then realize how good we actually had it.

My motto about this type of thing is along the lines of can you do something about it? Yes? Then do it. No? Then stop worrying. What's the point of spending your life miserable because you don't have that Kardashian ass? (no, I don't count actually dying trying to get your booty bigger as “something you can do about it”),

morning-1369446_960_720.jpg

I'm not talking about doing some sort of active appreciation, you know, just stop feeling bad, stop complaining. Get it through your head that this is who you are. You can either hate yourself or love yourself. But really, you're just wasting your time wishing you were someone else and comparing to others.

I know, it's something we're very encouraged to do, we're constantly shown “role models” whom we should try to imitate and so saying “fuck that” can become somewhat tough, particularly to young, vulnerable girls and boys. So it's easy to start disliking how you look, to start judging yourself. And most of us find ourselves wanting, sadly.

Let's take spots, for example. In some cases, sure, they can get pretty awful. But most of the time, they're not, they're there, do what you can about it and don't stress yourself about it. All these things that we think make us undesirable and not sexy...but the sexiest thing is just not giving a damn.

Thank you for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Images: Pxabay

Sort:  

What's the point of spending your life miserable because you don't have that Kardashian ass?

Yeah, especially when in reality it looks like this:

kardashian.jpg

In all seriousness though, it's unfortunate our generation has to go through these arbitrary standards that collectively emerge from (social) media because of the people in there that try look as good as possible for the photo, while in real life looking nothing like the photo portrays. I mean, of course we naturally tend to want to put the "better side of us" on display, but I think there's some line where it gets too far with the "happy, happy, joy, joy XOXOXO, life love <333" updates.

But I agree, we should appreciate what we have while we have – we are pretty damn pretty (so pretty that it must be said twice) while still young in our prime! And what a waste if we only realize it in our 40's when gravity starts pulling stuff down.

I did have my fair share of spots and acne when younger, though I fortunately found a way to keep it in check with changing my diet (going gluten-free has worked well for me personally). Luckily I was never picked on it. Got my scars, but have learned that nobody gives a flying fuck if you're skin isn't completely silky smooth.

oh my god, I hate you :))) I'll be going to bed in a while with that in my head. I wonder how many surgeries she went through..and why?

I think the issue with posing for a "good" picture is just that, you know, posing itself. I mean... I don't think we should have pictures of ourselves fresh out of bed or out of the shower or whatever, because those are private, reserved for a few people to see, not the fucking world. Obviously, you don'tl ike that you have bags under your eyes when you wake up if you're going to let the whole world see...Well, not in our fucked up world.

we are pretty damn pretty (so pretty that it must be said twice)

fuck yes.

I had acne problems too and scars and all that shit and I wasn't bullied either, but obviously I was very self-conscious. But I learned that people around me don't give a shit either. So I stopped giving one myself.

While I agree with you, I still hate you for that pic :P

While I agree with you, I still hate you for that pic :P

Hhahahaa, I'm sorry, hopefully there will be no significant further damage done in the form of Kim's silicone butt cheeks flapping in your dreams.

Oops... I think I threw more gasoline into the fire...

How do you live with yourself? :P

Ehh... I have come to think that perhaps I have undermined the significance of my actions and the consequences I can cause with them.

Clearly, sending pictures like that :))

Not all guys like big boobs... it's the quality not the quantity! Personally, I'm not a Big Boob fan- I was making love (ok we were fucking) to a girl with really big boobs and they kept flopping around in every direction. Watching them was really distracting!

From what I've seen, guys just like boobs :))) Honestly, I think it's more a matter of how much interest the boobs show in them, not the other way around...oh well, maybe some aren't like that, who knows?

I read a study years ago that said men like big boobs because they look like buttocks and in the early part of human evolution they had sex from behind like animals... kind of a Jungian "archetypal" thing. Who knows???

That sounds really wrong :))

Yeah... and even wronger is that some PhD got a grant to do the "research".

good point, I hadn't even thought of that...I'd ask the ever popular "what will they think of next", but I'm pretty sure they'd amaze me. In a bad way.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I care not about my six pack, my rippling biceps or being so unnaturally well endowed.
lmao..

but the sexiest thing is just not giving a damn.

...exactly....see above comment...

There's a meme going around those of my generation on Facebook: "I wish I was as fat as I was the first time I thought I was fat." Thought you might get a chuckle out of that if you haven't seen it already.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75