Beginners Pulsing Breath Meditation (7 mins) - Monday Mindfulness

in #life5 years ago (edited)


This is a basic active breath work practice that can help to oxygenate the body while developing conditioning for more advanced practices and help us to tune into the richness of this moment.

If you're having trouble with playback you can find another copy here:

If you would like to check out all the other services I share visit:
http://www.Mindfulness2Life.org

If you'd like to support more of these videos become a Patron:
https://www.patreon.com/IanPericEM

Ian Peric is an expert in Practical Mindfulness - guiding an innovative, fun and effective way to tune in and build clarity and focus as a natural part of your day-to-day life.

The gear I've used to create this (full disclosure, I get a gift if you buy through these links). BTW Amazon have not been treating their staff very well so if there is a better affiliate program please let me know. If you choose to buy through an ethical store, even though it would take away from my income I support and encourage you to buy ethical when you can.
Camera: http://amzn.to/2nTmHZC
Amazing lens used for this video: https://amzn.to/2stKH7Y
Protection for that beautiful lens: https://amzn.to/2HiGlow
Microphone http://amzn.to/2nTwPkV
If I had to upgrade the microphone I'd choose this one: http://amzn.to/2o1DoRJ
Light reflector http://amzn.to/2nX4xGj
Fast memory makes the camera happy: http://amzn.to/2CexVMJ


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hi ianperic,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hi @ianperic, although it a bit long of the video with 22 mins but it WORTH it. Thank you for sharing, I always knew that if a person get upset, just do some deep breath before we speak, this deep breath can calm our emotion down and clear our mind, so that we won't speak anything we regret later. In meditation, I always tried to control my mind by breathing but I always failed. I coudn't keep my mind clear during meditation. After watch your video, I hope I can follow your instruction, and see how it goes in handling stress and away from distraction. Then will apply to my meditation again :)
You have a calm and soothing voice. When listen your video, it has the calm and soothing effect.

Thanks for the kind words 💚

With ongoing practice it's amazing how many skills and habits are developed that naturally become part of daily life.
Enjoy the journey 😃

Thanks @ianperic.I wonder was there a guide or rule for beginner? Like how many times per day and each time for how long?

This practice is fairly basic though some may find the 8 pulse tricky at first. Saying that I often find myself doing simple basic practices and I find them very powerful... it depends on the flow of the day.

So this seven minute practice would be a great morning practice for a beginner. We tend to be clearer in the morning and flushing the cardio system while stilling the mind can set up the rest of our day with a smile. 😀

I like to stabilise a simple practice and do it more often before getting adventurous with the length of a single practice.

Once comfortable with the exercise you might choose to add an afternoon session to re-vitalise, oxygenise and reset. You might also choose to make the periods longer, 2 minutes per technique would make the whole practice 14 minutes of breath-work. The practice periods have evolved for me as I consistently repeat the basics.

This type of pulsing breath is just one technique out of many... I will be sharing many more videos covering more advanced and dynamic breath techniques over the next few months.

With mindfulness in general I try to share a range of techniques, experiential insights and ways to integrate them with daily life while empowering you to create your own blend that resonates with you.

Congratulations @ianperic! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

What a best way to control your mind then by having some contril over your breath...thanks for sharing 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Cheers, I'm glad you enjoy it. 😃

Hi Ian!

Did you also upload on YouTube?
Dtube is not working fine here unfortunately.
I'd love seeing your video.
Have a great day!

Thanks Ronel,
You can find it on youtube here:

Wishing you a wonderful day too 😃

Oh thank you!
Great video!
Can we do that anytime or even after meal or in an empty stomach?
I don't eat nor drink from 7pm to 11 am every day for almost two years now.
What time would you suggest for that breathing exercise?

Hi Ronel, Thanks!

I would usually do it at least 2 hours after eating.
I like to do this one in the morning though it's great any time but usually around bed time I keep it more slow and simple... 😀😴💚

Enjoy the practice, it tends to expand over consistent time doing it. 😊

Oh I see.
Thanks for sharing your knowledge and experience.
Hope this would help a lot of people especially those with illnesses.

You have a lovely charisma and something about you that makes you very likable.

I'm not very good with handling pressure and stress. I have tried some breathing exercises already but I always got disrupted and was not able to focus and stay present.

I was breathing with you and I must admit that it was still difficult to stay present but as soon as my thoughts went away to something different I've tried to come back and I was more less successful. I think it takes a lot of practice and it really isn't easy. I feel calm and relaxed now. And I'm also proud of me that I did it! :)

I have saved your video as I want to make sure that I repeat the exercise exactly the way you did it :)

Thank you for sharing and showing me how to breathe to calm myself down :) It was a great lesson!

Congratulations!!!

I'm so glad you got into some quality presence time 😃
The experience becomes so much more graceful with practice.

Enjoy 💖


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank You! I really appreciate you spreading the word. 🙏😊💚

Hey, it's good to find material about Mindfulness, I was a psychology student and one of my teachers practiced this and gave us some very interesting classes. While watching your video and breathing as you had indicated, I wanted to sleep, that happens to me every time I try to meditate (it also happened to me in the classes on mindfulness that my teacher dictated to me at the university), why does that happen to me of wanting to sleep in the middle of meditation?

There can be many reasons to feel sleepy while meditating so it's hard to pin point it exactly.

Does anything else give you a similar sensation of sleepiness?

Sometimes it's the mind wanting to phase out, sometimes we forget to breath, sometimes it's because we have a full stomach, sometimes we are dehydrated, sometimes it's a phase that passes quickly, sometimes not, sometimes we just need to sleep.

Are you able to catch the sleepiness and focus on that? exploring it consciously?

In some cases simply a more movement based practice helps develop some mindfulness comfort in an active way before we can explore different types.

So in short it's normal and there are many reasons why.
Please let me know if you have questions along the way.

These are some playful active meditation practices you might like.





You sir have a high vibration! Subscribed. Ok I'll watch now. I will come back and tell you how my experience was when I actually do the exercise!

Thanks Zainenn 💚

Very interesting! This is my first time knowing about techniques of consecutive strokes as I have heard only about the common alternate strokes. I tried but losing track specially with the eight strokes. I am sure this will require a lot of consciousness and discipline to be followed.

Is this process something that you recommend to become the regular way of breathing or a regular exercise?

Hello,
It can take some practice to develop condition and comfort with presence and breath work.

It's kind of like a gym exercise where you develop muscles and states that can improve general breathing and breath control that we can use in a range of ways in daily life. Being able to connect with the breath quickly and having the strength and control to juggle whatever breath pattern fits best in the moment.

I love to experiment with it... see how it feels over time 😃

Practice. I think that is the keyword specially for people like me who is totally about those stuff. But yes, I think it is indeed a good way to exercise. Thanks for sharing your technique! 😊

You're Welcome 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79