Hey! - 92 Yesterday.

in #life5 years ago

92 yesterday.Still here today. Family made a fuss,out for a meal and all that. I think people are quite happy for their age to be known and broadcast until they get to fiftyish, and then a period of age shyness takes over, until the eighties, when age pride returns, just like my example - I'm 92 you know.

A present from grandchildren was a book - Stephen Hawking - 'Brief Answers to the Big Questions'

I've read two chapters and I can tell it will be an easier read than his 'Brief History of Time' when I didn't get beyond page 2 !

The Big Questions are -

Is There A God ?
How Did It All Begin?
Can We Predict The Future?
What Is Inside A Black Hole?
Is There Other Intelligent Life In The Universe?
Will Artificial Intelligence Outsmart Us?
How Do We Shape The Future?
Will We Survive On Earth?
Should We Colonise Space?
Is Time Travel Possible?

I'm looking forward to my bedtime read tonight.

From the future,back to the now.

With politics hogging the headlines with The Mid Terms and Brexit I came across this -

A Political Mugging Single for Steemit (2) 600px.jpg

Sort:  

92% upvote for that occassion - see you next year :)

Thank you kingscrown. Will do my best to be around and engaged with Steemit for a while yet I hope.

Happy Birthday - Hope you enjoyed the day

Thank you paulag. Very enjoyable day out to celebrate with an old pal from the 1950s.We met when driving buses for the same company.Then went our separate ways for 50 years,then 3 years ago he looked me up on one of these 'Where are they now' sites.
Cheers.

Happy birthday. It's quite surprising to see elders playing with computers! I wish you more longevity and happiness.

Thanks drakos. Yes,I am lucky with understanding computers. The company I worked for had one of the early ones.Very big.Had a room of its own.I also bought early personal desktops - Atari.Amstrad.
Cheers.

It's great to have a true veteran among us :)

Thank you Drakos. At a show business meeting, George Burns said 'As a veteran, I am pleased to be here, at my age I'm pleased to be anywhere' - I'll go along with that.

Thanks bobinson. Yes, I suppose it is wow ! but I'm sure there must be other wrinklies here on Steemit,although I haven't come across any yet.Must do a search!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you. The recording threw me for a while. At first I thought this is uncanny - someone shares my exact thoughts .Then the penny dropped! Good idea. Upvoted.

Happy Birthday! :)

Many thanks. Hopefully Steeming onward now to 93!

Thank you acidyo.

Happy Birthday, my friend! Sounds like you had a good day. Enjoy reading Hawkins. Always good to ponder research the big questions!

Thank you Kenny. I read another couple of chapters of Hawking's book. Much easier going and enjoyable because it deals with his early life and university.I may struggle when he gives his views on the Big Questions.

Belated Happy Birthday!

Thank you vishalsingh4997.

The trouble with having a good time celebrating a birthday when you are old - It takes much longer to get over it !

I guess I am little late for the Birthday Party... Belated Birthday wishes @ijavee

Thank you inuke. No, not too late. I'm enjoying this as long as it lasts. Its Friday evening here in the U.K .I'm watching with one eye on another screen looking to place an in play lay the draw football bet if the opportunity arises.Later a whisky as a nightcap.Not a bad life in the nineties !

You are rocking nineties.. @ijavee.
Cheers. ;-)

I'll drink to that @inuke - hic.

See ya around @ijavee.

Happy birthday!! 🎂

Thank you silenteyes. It has been a happy birthday week.Continued this morning with a regular Friday coffee meetup with friends. Had a cream cake as a treat!

That's great to know @ijavee . Enjoy your day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81