REBORN: Another year around the Sun

in #life6 years ago

There is something about Birthdays that makes us act in a certain way. The way we treat our birthdays is unique to each one of us. I have seen people trying to be good on this day and many people often go to orphanages and spend time with the kids.

And on the other hand, I have seen people who indulge in activities that can be termed as bad or anti-social. I would not rather talk about those but I will try to put forth a few things that I have learned over the years.

Over the last 30 years, I have celebrated my birthday on a few occasions and that was mostly while I was doing my Master at the University. There were cakes, and burgers, carbonated soft drinks and lots of fun.

But I have never know why we feel the need to celebrate birthdays?

Someone once posted on Facebook that people in the older times celebrated birthdays because the average life expectancy was low. A lot of people died in their youth, most people never reached old age and in that era and time, each day they were alive was a miracle. But this is the twenty-first century. With modern medicine and cures to almost all major diseases, average life expectancy has reached 68 years.

Should we celebrate birthdays?

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

I think we should celebrate birthdays, it gives us time to reflect on our lives and mostly it gives quality moment with our family and friends and those moments are priceless

Yes, you are right. Birthdays are to reflect and to search our mistakes. And to try to rectify them.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11