Arise and Shine

in #life6 years ago (edited)

It was 11 years ago that I first heard the song below and was brought into awareness of just how much I was in fact letting my life pass me by.

Eleanor, you must awaken, you've been sleeping too long. Your life is passing you by. You can't ignore it anymore."

So the lyrics of the song sang to me, and though my name is not Eleanor, I recognized myself in its warning.

Is this how you like to live your story? With a fog over your eyes, blind to the day?

Eleanor, you are mistaken, you're a daughter of the sun....

Am I? That sounds right, but then why was everything so dreary?

If I could write a song to lift your spirits...

Well I can't speak for Eleanor, but for me, Matthew Santos, you did.

Fast Forward

Now all these years later, I see that I have in fact awakened (in a non-spiritual sense of the word). I am retired while still young and healthy enough to enjoy it. Living in a beautiful, sunny land with friendly, creative people all around and preparing for yet another major creative project.

But what's more important than this stop along the way has been the journey itself.

When I heard this song (after buying the album off a hit that featured Santos as a guest singer) it brought into sharp recognition that things weren't right in my life. I'd become comfortable with a life that was way too small for me. But even recognizing that, I simply didn't know what to do to change it.

But I knew enough to be honest with Spirit. I wept at hearing this song, and sent out a prayer, asking for a life that was worthy of the light in me.

I didn't dwell on it though. I largely forgot all about it, needing to get back to the business of keeping even my modest life above water. But a little over a year later a sequence of events was set in motion in my life by the crashing of the economy and the company I contracted for deciding to leave my state.

Long story short, I wound up responding to that crisis in a way that set me on a course for financial independence and the opportunity to finally share all the skills and abilities I'd cultivated over the years in a way that uplifted many others.

I got that bigger life, that life in the sun, and helped others to also.

And now as I enter this next phase of my journey called "early retirement," I don't have to even ask myself to reach for more or to rise with the dawn and seize each day. It is simply my way.

And I look forward to what still lies beyond the next sunrise for this daughter of the sun.

060rjtuyyn.jpg
(Photo source: Pixabay)

Resteems always appreciated!

Sort:  

How awesome, @indigoocean. I always love the way you share so openly who you are and your journey, and it's always very much appreciated. I've had several very similar realizations as well at different times. Then it seems my addiction to adventure sort of draws me back to dive deep head over heals into all the challenges of life all over again, forgetting much of my previous revelations... sometimes it seems as if it's just for the fun of rediscovering and re-membering it all over again and again... :)

I was listening to someone yesterday and was struck differently, yet still similar, by something he was saying of after we die. He mentioned how after we die the soul plays back the entire life, but the thing he emphasized is that we're not only experiencing and observing our self in everything we've done in our lives, but also observing and experiencing the feelings of how our actions affect everybody else too. That context put it in a more profound light to expand my consciousness to consider more often. I though, how cool is that...

That's a fascinating idea indeed! I would actually enjoy such a retrospective, for the most part. I'd say I'd 97% enjoy it and 3% cringe. Though at the time, there would really be no rejection of any of it, just learning and understanding.

I have come to see that sharing my own journey with others in a really honest and open ways is part of why I've been given the ability to analyse my life and see the teaching behind the experiences in a way few people do. I am a born teacher, and I teach through my being a really dedicated student of life. Glad it's a way of taking in new information/insight that you delight in.

My favorite line from your comment is: "... sometimes it seems as if it's just for the fun of rediscovering and re-membering it all over again and again." Yes!

How awesome... You might like this video I'm watching now for the second time today. Well, actually was listening as I do work and loved the topic of it so much I'm watching it with all my attention now, because I love this stuff. I'd be curious what you think of this.

You are a fortunate person with a great vision, to achieve economic independence is a goal that not everyone achieves and less when you are young. I congratulate you and wish you the greatest success. Beautiful song.

Thank you. Though I'm decidedly middle aged (not young) it does feel like quite the achievement, particularly given where I was (living paycheck to sometimes paycheck) only a decade ago. I accredit it to a spirit-led life of faith and perseverance. I never let my mind overrule my intuition.

Your writings seem to be made by someone young, that is what you transmit, that makes you young. It is always good to keep faith in one's desires and to believe in intuition.

Well sometimes the early retirement is a phase that deals with people differently, I'm 24 and I don't know what it feels like really, but I'd just see it as more of a delight rather than anyone other thing.
For you living in a beautiful place surrounded with creative people, you will never muse alone 😁😁

So glad to hear that you started life discovery at an early stage. And it's good you started early to discover how to be financially free and I guess that was possible with the opportunities around you and probably people around to support you financially.

I started seeking this same knowledge three years back when I was 22 but didn't get the needed finances as when i found bitcoin and it was barely 400 dollars. Not too late now that am 25, at least I can feed myself and still have some more to help others.

Actually I was in my early 40s when I came to this realization from listening to this song that I had settled into too small a life and that despite all I had accomplished previously, I simply wasn't living my potential at that time. I had no help from anyone but my own divine inner guidance, but that was all it took. 100% commitment to that, living in almost constant prayer, and being willing to do whatever I was told to do, even if my mind couldn't understand it. Just like my now moving to NM. People keep asking me why I moved here and I have to keep telling them that I don't know. I am simply spirit-led, and trust that the reason will reveal itself in due time. You are still quite young, and can experiment with different ways of approaching achievement in life with no children dependent on you yet!

Wow! Indeed am still young then to achieve things.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Woah....The story to become free. This state of mind is very tough to gain and even if someone gain it for few hours ,the state is hard to retain.

I wish you that once you become free, You remain free as an independent soul. I pray that it happens as soon as possible.

Lots of love
Hash-tag

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14