Do the People Make the Place?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Relationship with the land is so important to me in any place that I live. I recall moving to Bali many years ago and being told by a spiritual channel how important it was that while there I learn to "Let Nature Love You."

I did learn that, and have been improving those skills ever since. And when I came here to NM I definitely had that on my mind.

Not to say I came for that reason, because really I just had a clear feeling that this was where I needed to move from CA, but had no idea why. I've been searching for a reason ever since, actually. But I knew that for whatever reason I was anywhere, a big part of the experience would be my relationship with the natural world there. (I even asked the trees in CA to put in a good word for me with the trees here, and could feel some sort of connection deepen in response.)

And I have spent a lot of time outdoors since arriving. I haven't even gone to any natural hot springs, the Rio Grande, Ski Valley, the waterfalls of el Salto, etc. yet. I've just been sitting on the acreage I live on and driving through rolling hills with mountain views each day, and that has been quite a relationship itself. I look forward to much more of that and exploration of the natural wonders here also.

But I realized recently that this may not be enough. No matter how much I love nature, perhaps I can only feel at home when I have a place within a community of PEOPLE. I don't need to see folks very often, but I think I do need to have some sort of communal tribe I feel a part of.

In the places I've lived before, that developed very, very quickly. Even in NYC, I started studying with a Buddhist lama just a month after arriving, and that (and later my co-workers) became that communal context for me to fit my life into. And that was a place with very busy people. The San Francisco Bay Area was also super busy, but for whatever reason a lot of people made some small place for me in their lives. Busy lives. Small space. But reliable, and I don't ask for much, being a hermit by nature.

The odd thing about being here has been how different it is starting on this front. I know a couple of people here from the Bay Area, but given we are all hermits and that there are only 2 of them, that's not a lot of social context being provided there.

The Questioning Mind

Do the people make the place?

Am I needing to get involved in some group activities (join a book club, start going to some religious group even though my spirituality is inner directed and I don't really care what they have to say, join a hiking group?) in order to feel truly like I've arrived here?

Do I need something more than just connection to self and land, or might this be some sort of spiritual maturation that I'm being invited into?

And if I do need more, does it need to be deliberately cultivated by becoming a joiner, even though I'm not honestly interested in any particular group activities? Is that how I must meet the individuals I will invite over for tea on the patio, which is more my idea of pleasant relating?

What's Your Experience?

Can you relate to the idea of not automatically wanting to join an "already there" community focused on some activity?

Or do you naturally gravitate toward such groupings for fun?

How do you fit yourself into a new location when you move?

Would you ever want to try the "just me and the land" approach to settling into a place?

team-386673_1280.jpg
(Photo Source: Pixabay)

Resteems always appreciated!

Sort:  

great questions and reflections. my heart warmed when you mentioned that you've been given the "task" to "let nature love you"- in younger years, i've been hip to "join" groups, and as i get older i still see that going to a community gathering i feel drawn to usually has the added benefit not of joining that group (which i'm not much looking for), but to spur on relationships with a few people that i may meet that i feel attracted to. that's pretty much my MO. with taos, i remember moving there in winter and needing to work straightaway. i didn't make too many close connections (with humans) until later in my time there, but the natural world called to me straightaway and i focused on that because it is such a special area. i can say that the natural area was what was so special to me about living in taos. i made a few close friends by the end, but the mountain continues to speak to me to this day. btw, i don't think you're alone in being a hermit attracted to taos- there are a lot of hermits there :D!!! <3 <3

I'm so fortunate to have your experience here to draw upon!

I'm so fortunate
To have your experience
Here to draw upon!

                 - indigoocean


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You've so beautifully put words to exactly what I've been feeling and contemplating the last few years. In 4 years I've lived in Nevada, Georgia, Oklahoma and now California. I've struggled to find roots and connect with a community but sometimes I deeply yearn for that (physical) tribal welcome (my tribe is scattered and skype doesn't really fill that gap for me). I also wonder if maybe I'm being invited into a new period of maturation, a deepening sense of belonging to the land, to self... or if maybe I just need to force myself out of my comfort zone and join group activities that I'm also not very fond of (fellow hermit here). I don't have any answers, I just hope to live these questions as gracefully as it seems you do. Thank you for sharing, I needed this reflection. Xx

You've moved even more than I have, so I can definitely see how you'd feel this way. One thing I think is worth honing in on is how we tell the difference between retreat that is a part of inner maturation and retreat that is a part of self-isolation because we find it less stressful to simply enjoy our own company. The former we must not run from. The latter we must not hide within.

Yes, such a good point, thank you! I do sometimes have difficulty discerning when I'm isolating versus being asked to engage in healthy and necessary retreat. I learn more and more over time to trust what's unfolding for me and listen deeply to what's most true in any given circumstance. Beautiful post @indigoocean, I always love what you share.

I can somewhat relate to what you are experiencing. Having spent 8 years in the military moving multiple times it was always easy feeling welcomed when showing up to a new base because I shared something in common with everyone there. It was quite different when I decided to leave the military and go to college full-time.

My first two years at the university I felt alone because I showed up to class and went home. Although I really enjoy my alone time I learned it's not something that is sustainable. I wasn't involved in any way with the community or other students, which had me feeling left out.

Finally I grew tired of how my college experience was unfolding and I decided to get a student job on campus. I didn't need the job, but I knew it would open up other opportunities to find where I fit in. It was by far the best decision I made.

So I would definitely encourage you to go outside of your comfort zone and reach out to the community through their preferred activities. Through that exploration I guarantee you will meet some like minded people that you will continue to spend time with.

Ultimately, I think its a happy marriage between the environment and the people that naturally influence each other that ends up making a place.

... reach out to the community through their preferred activities.

Thx for your thoughtful comment, and especially this line. That really struck a chord. I keep thinking in terms of the potential for connecting around my interests or just staying alone with my interests. But there is an important aspect of being in community to give yourself in some ways to the others. To be a part of something they care about with respect for it because they care about it and value for it because they are there valuing it. Maybe that's what most of them are doing even. Just finding excuses to be with each other.

That's a good point. There is a good chance that people are showing up not because of the activity, but simply because others are showing up.

I am not really the type that love connecting with a lot of people. From my experience in life.

Familiarity begets insults.

So I keep my circle closed up, but there was a time that i was really feeling lonely and i needed someone to listen to my stupids while I listen to theirs. I am the type that really love comedy or hanging arround with funny people but there was no openmic community in our school, so i talked to some friends who were also intrested in comedy and we created ours.
What am i trying to say?
Find a commuinty that does something you love doing, if there is none, then create yours.... Just my suggestion

Yes, in the past I've always been the one creating things that bring people together around ideas I care about. But as time goes by, I become less interested in putting out that much energy and also having to be on host mode during everything. I like to chill more. I do have a service project I'm gearing up for, and that will put me with people in a way that is structured and where I have to guide things. That's enough of that!

But I totally get the idea of preferring to be alone if you don't have people you actually enjoy being with!

Since you are just like me, why don't you try what I do?
Before I join a community, I see it as a very interesting community but after some time. I got bored too and leave.
I was once in a reader's club but immediately I learnt how to read, summarize and understand as fast as possible. I got bored of the community and I left.
I know I am a rolling stone, but I have actually gathered the knowledge I want from them and thus I don't find them interesting anymore. Because all we do is to come together and read all day. Which I can actually do while enjoying the comfort of my house.
So I moved over to another club to learn from them and if there is no more mystery to uncover, I leave them for another.
Like i always tell people to know as much as possible.
The more you know is the more you get paid for your services and the less you pay people to render services.

@indigoocean I have never really had roots. Even as a child and I was not raised in the military. Now in the later part of life, I feel the same way. I have friends where I am now, but really don't do anything much by choice. Your article could have been me writing it.

We are where we are supposed to be all the time. :)

Congrats for your blog @indigoocean

Great subject

I think always we can compare this kind of situations as " do i fit to this land? shall i move there? and so on" with a music phrase/creation

Just let the 1st note to step out of nowhere and then the next one will start ... and the next one ... and so on ... finnaly having a beautiful melody

You can live in the best place on Earth and be unhappy :-) like in music ... you can have the best saxophone of gold ... and the music that you're letting out you are not understanding it ... as well as you can live in Morocco ... playing an egyptian ney or kawla or a saxophone nailed with gums on his keys and can be the most happiest person on planet :-) We are channels of our Great Architect.

If you want to know a culture/land ... go there, move there ... know it ... expecially thru music/art/food ... not so much thru other things ... The Souls are Blessing the Places/Lands where we move/live but always put GOD 1st

Have a Blessed Day and enjoy from Time2Time my music @indigoocean

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is decidedly so

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83