Don't Make Them Sick So You Can Make Them Well

in #life6 years ago (edited)

That may sound like an obvious suggestion, yet you'd be surprised how common it is for people to essentially do this very thing.

People get an idea in their heads of themselves as good, or helping, or a healer, or whatever, and then they need someone who needs help or healing. They are much more comfortable with you when you need them. They need you to shore up their identity that is based on their relationship to others.

I just got my dog back and I should have known better than to leave her with someone who 1) has had chronic health concerns her entire life; 2) used to run a chronic care home and has a dream to do so again; 3) has a dog herself who is always needing vet care; and 4) had other dogs staying at the home times I was there who also all seemed to have some malady.

Of course, hindsight is always 20-20. I don't actually know what happened to my sweet little, spritely dog, who everyone always thinks is a puppy because she bounds around so enthusiastically. But when I came to get her she was locked inside by herself and looked depressed. When I finally got her released, she came with a $220 vet bill and the inability to jump, barely even walking.

I'll skip further details to emphasize the primary point: Some people make everyone around them unwell. They aren't doing it on purpose. They are good people. Yet somehow they make choice after choice that somehow brings out the injury/unwellness in those around them. They then become the big-hearted, long-suffering caretaker. This is their core identity.

(My dog is now getting better by the day now that she's back with someone who actually expects her to be well. I'm still having to carry her up stairs though.)

The Dead Don't Need You

Another example of this I was reminded of just yesterday came from a friend who is another one of those big-hearted people who has a strong identity as good and as a healer. She really is the kindest person, and also stunningly needy. She constantly needs her identity shored up by validation from others. At an event yesterday she made mention of a mutual friend's death a year ago and how that person still needs us to say prayers for her to have a successful transition into the afterlife.

Now a year ago when the person actually died we discussed this fully, and I made it clear then that I simply don't believe that the happiness of the dead depends on the actions or failure to act of the living. I'm pretty sure they've got destinies of their own that are not contingent on our self-importance.

I said it to her then and I say it to you now: Don't make them sick just so that you can be the one to make them well.

It's not an easy thing to hear, but oh so very necessary if that's what's going on. The world has enough problems being created by those who actually mean harm. We can't afford to also have the well-meaning menacing us all.

Now to be fair, there are some religious traditions in which there are ceremonies to support the recently dead into a more favorable life. I personally classify it as superstition, but many superstitions have some practical benefit. In this case, it can serve an important purpose for those left alive.

Dealing with Death

When someone dies there can be a resistance in those left alive to coming into relationship with the person as they are now, instead of clinging to them as they once were. There is a tendency to look for them where they were, and finding them gone, miss them. It is a major mark of spiritual maturity to be able to look for the beloved departed where they actually are now and begin relating to them in their new state. For most people, they have neither the thought nor ability to do that. So they hold onto a vision of the person with all their faults, fears and personality defects. They seem them with all their human foibles and imagine that harming them, or them being a threat to others even after death.

The thing is, we really are quite powerful in how we create. While our relating to a deceased person this way doesn't limit them to such small limits of their destiny after death, it does only allow us to relate to them as the thoughtform that matches that limited set of beliefs. We can have all kinds of extraordinary, otherworldly experiences with such thought forms. We don't take responsibility for having created them in the first place, so don't experience having any control over such creations. They can really terrorize people, especially if enough people are feeding into that same belief about the deceased.

So those cultures that have these traditions of doing a ritual to guide the person into the light, I think is so that those left behind are able to transition into a new enlightened story about the person, instead of generating a thoughtform based on fear and sorrow. That's a good thing.

I don't personally need that though and am not one to play along when someone is acting like they personally are going to do this for someone when they don't even come from one of those traditions and have not acheived the status of such a teacher. I appeal to you not to need it either.

Leave the dead alone. They are doing quite fine right now without you. Leave the well alone. Let them stay well.

True Compassion

We all have egos, and egos will always seek out some identity for us. That's not something to fight or fret. It's okay. But don't make your identity around saving the desperate, helping the needy, or healing the unwell, or you'll find yourself constantly bringing out the worst in life.

You can still move through this world helping people in all sorts of ways. I am confident that I do. I've helped a lot of people, and sometimes in some really profound ways. There was even once a period of about 3 weeks in which I could heal people just by looking at them.

The first time I realized it was happening I was sitting in a cafe watching people walk by on the street. Each time someone would walk by I could see two auras around them. One was whatever thoughtform of dis-ease they were carrying, and the other was of their innate perfection. I recognized the false as false and the true as true without question, and in that instant the untrue simply vanished, leaving behind only there perfection. They were "healed." That's compassion.

Compassion sees the person in their well-being even when the person can't see it or outwardly be it themselves.

Compassion is the dedication to the truth of perfection so steadfast that it cannot be undermined by a little thing like present moment "reality."

Such healing doesn't come from some need to fulfill some helper story about you. It isn't so fragile and dependent. It can instead be a natural response to a moment and each opportunity to be of help. Water flowing into the cracks.

It can affirm the inherent well-being and competency of those you are helping and acknowledge the mutuality of the relationship. When you endeavor to help others, get clear on what the payoff for you is. Bring it to consciousness and don't act if you can't see clearly why you're doing what you're doing.

Don't lie to yourself and others. Don't make them less, just so that you can appear as more. Don't make them sick so that you can make them well.

Love strengthens the well, uplifts the blessed, and flows abundantly to all willing to receive it.

Pour yourself into this world as the Divine perfection giving itself to the Divine perfection. There is much such work to be done in this world.

IMG_0219.JPG
(Here's a photo of my perfectly well little doggy.)

Sort:  

This absolutely reminds me of a needy person I know, actually I think everyone know a person. Great post!

LOL, I'm sure we all have at least one in our lives!

She must be your logo on Minds, @indigoocean. I'm not sure if it's an error on steemit or if you intended it that way, but your post seemed to cut off at the end for me at

"But when I came to get her she was lock"

So I'm curious to hear more. I'll bet just being back with you in time will cure her of whatever it may be. Many Blessings to you, my friend, and your cute little dog.

By the way, I miss your steemit posts on Minds. I normally use that to keep track of friends who post on Steemit too.

OMG, the blockchain totally lost most of this very long post! I'm not sure when it happened. And maybe it was a factor of using Busy. It was there for over a day in full though. Now it does cut off there, both there on Steemit and on Busy. Not sure if there is any way to retrieve the full thing from the blockchain archive, but I'll try to.

Now that is strange. New gremlins on steemit now. I had a feeling there was a lot more. Very strange indeed.

Thankfully that tts thing makes audio recordings of all posts! I'm transcribing right now. LOL

Good thing and that it is still time open to be edited too.

Yes! Take a look again now. Just transposed it. Not the most precise transcription, but will do for now. I'm still hoping to find a copy of the original.

Yes, so well said! This one you really hit on the nail. I relate totally too, because of having recently gone to so many funerals over the last 6 months and seeing others go through the same ritual beliefs you describe, while feeling those who passed on in my heart freed up and in a celebratory state of moving on. Those I knew the best often not only remind me of their new state, but often have deeply profound messages for me and my own life, which includes not as much preaching to the others the messages I get as simply to shine that inner peace to the others energetically.

It's also amazing to me how I too share almost the exact same periods of healing with seeing auras and knowing intuitively issues people have to heal from my heart.

And I love your words,

Water flowing into the cracks.

Instead of some egocentric mind game from a place of one needing to heal another for their own self validation, it comes naturally from a selfless heart of compassion... and flows so effortlessly. In my case, I am sure that's part of why these periods of my life have come and gone, as different aspects of my own ego do tend to entangle things energetically once I slip out of my heart and back in my head... For me it seems to be much about releasing the mind chatter to fall back in the compassion of my heart, which is much like an effortless natural spring.

Compassion sees the person in their well-being even when the person can't see it or outwardly be it themselves.

This is so true... Thank you so much, @indigoocean, for sharing this one, as it helps to give me some moments of fresh clarity about it all - (seeing a part of myself in you too). Sincerely, thank you 💚

Really love the description you have in your bio. What are some of the gifts you came to share? One of mine is Self Love! :) :)

Glad to see you read the bio 🙂 I would say life is nothing but becoming the gift we are to share. Everything we learn, everything that helps us clarify what we are for, everything that inspires us and expands our energyfield, it all is the gift we give as we pass through this world.

Thank you for this beautiful piece and had to resteem it for others to read as well.

Reading through the article, my thought went so far in trying to merge your writing with some incidence of life.

Don't make them sick so you can make them well.

These category of people are those I can classify as fame and recognition seekers. They tend to create problem where there is non under a hidden identity with the aim of providing solution later on and then appear like a peace maker, not knowing they initiated the problem.

We don't need the dead

I can't agree any less with you on that point because I experienced it when my dad died three years ago.
His brothers who never cared for him or his family all rallied round to donate funds for the burial then I wondered why the love was shown only when he died and after the burial, only one of my uncle who lives by has being checking on us.
Well those categories i tag them the praise seekers

My comment is a bit long, let me stop at this point. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for the insightful comment. Want to note that my heading is "the dead don't need you" not that we don't need them. (Though I think it is more like benefit/blessing than need either way.) The family members who show up only when someone is gone often do so out of concern for the living and often out of guilt for not having done as much as they could before. Either way, it is one good thing about a person passing that the family has a point of focus for working some things out that are normally ignored. Usually doesn't happen, but there is an opening created where it can.

Oh I missed it, thanks for the correction of the topic and thanks for the response as well.

It's 12:13am Nigeria time. Good night friend.

No worries. Sweet dreams and thanks so much for the resteem.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I love how you don't do intro and ending, just put it out there! I often can't be bothered to myself. Yes watch out for the saviours who are actually sucking the living life force right out of you!

No, something went wrong. The platform ate the rest of the article many hours after it was posted in full. Have to try to retrieve.

... Take a look now. Thank god for those tts transcriptions into audio! I just transcribed it back into text. 🙂

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by IndigoOcean from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great content and point of view @indigocean

Hope to stay in touch

Meanwhile as a Gift ... some music of mine ... Just followed you

Regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09