First Morning in Santa Fe, Missed Flight Blessings and Mother's Day Reflection

in #life6 years ago

Sitting in the yard at my airbnb and realizing I don't have my Mother's phone number on this phone! Of course none of my sisters (who live with or near her) are answering their phones.

What can be better than in a new place to reach out to connect with the very source of your life itself, Mother. It will happen later, I'm sure.

I was thankfully met at the airport and taken to dinner last night by some friends. The conversation ran from teaching music to elementary school children, to permaculture with Native Americans, to "white" people reconnecting with their indigenous roots, to how we co-create with our ancestors outside of linear time.

We all realized that we didn't know the name of our mother's great-grandmother. (Do you know yours?)

This is a photo taken from the yard at my little casita. I've barely gotten myself up to do more than shower and try to call my Mom for Mother's Day because I hurt my back just as I was packing the car to leave for the airport on Friday.

Note the difference in "leaving Fri" and "first morning Sun." That's because hurting my back caused me to miss my flight. I wound up having to call a Lyft (since I'd already left my car in long term parking) to go back to my now vacant house, to fly out the next day instead. Thankfully the new owner asked me to leave the guest room furnishings, so I had a fully furnished bedroom to sleep in.

Another fortunate thing about missing the flight was that because I was here one extra night I got to attend the birthday party of a friend I hadn't seen in a few years. At the party were a group of my oldest friends in San Francisco, from when I first moved there right after college. We mostly lost touch over the years due to my interests evolving and theirs pretty much remaining smoking pot outdoors with good food as much as possible and otherwise just making the rent.

It was perfect both to see them right before leaving and to have the intro explanation for my presence be the missed flight and how fortunate it was. This prompted a string of stories from folks about seeming misfortunes they had encountered that had led to very fortunate outcomes. I call it the Lemonade from Lemons story series. The whole night wove in and out of such stories, as we sat around a fire pit with good food, most of them smoking pot, and completed for me a circle that needed completing.

And now for this new leg of the journey....

Wish my back wasn't still injured. Movement is torturous and slow. But somehow I'll get food, find my mother's phone number to wish her a Happy Mother's Day, and get on with figuring out what I'm doing in this little town.

image.jpg

Sort:  

Hate to hear you injured your back. If it helps, I bought an electronic pulse device some years ago for a back injury I had. It's called a Tens Unit and I got it from Amazon. It really helps.

Thanks for the suggestion. I’ll take a look. Have an appt. with a chiropractor for later this week.

just seeing this! glad to hear you're making lemonade from lemons and sharing such rich convos around others' stories as well. how is your back feeling now? i hope you're able to find some relaxation too during this move! much love and welcome to the desert! happy belated mother's day to your mom, too <3

The back is improving though still keeping me mostly homebound. I am in a nicer part of Santa Fe now (as of yesterday) so “home” is a nicer experience. And yes, was definitely a blessing in many ways despite being an inconvenience and literal pain in others.

Well, despite your affection in the back, you have not had a bad time in that town. I hope you find how to communicate with your mother today to wish her a happy day and receive her blessing. regards

Yes, despite needing to be horizontal a lot, I’m enjoying being here.

Interesting post. I will continue to keep you checked on the smartsteem whitelist

It's always good to see one's mother after a little break.
I can remember the last time I got home to see her after a years break at college. There were tears and hugs and all those good thing only a mother can give.
Now... she is no more though. Still missing her. It's been a couple of years since she passed away but still everyday something reminds me of her.
Cherish every moment you have with her.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 47.29% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98