Listening to the Silence in the Desert Rain

in #life6 years ago

This is my first rainy day since arriving in the high desert. The sounds and smells are a unique combination I’ve not experienced in the coastal regions I normally live in.

Here is a picture of the rain in the mini pine forest in the backyard.
image.jpg

I also attempted video that would convey the sound, including thunder, but that doesn’t seem to work with this platform.

You may wonder what thunder and rain have to do with silence, but actually our minds can only really register silence in contrast with sound. Rain is particularly good to focus on because the sound is made by each individual drop. If you listening closely enough, you can hear the intervals of silence between each drop.

Of course there is always still the background sound that was there before the rain, which is why what we’re really calling silence is simply the absence of a particular sound.

The reason to engage in this exercise is that it clears the mind of the mental chatter that is normally there, preventing us from receiving the blessings of intuition, peace of mind, neurological harmony, and insight. We become healthier in body and mind when we practice focusing our attention on something like the gaps between raindrops.

The next time you find yourself in the rain, or in the presence of any sort of intermittent sound, such as a rolling ocean or streaming traffic, give it a try. Let yourself absorb your attention into the space between the sounds. Just listen. Discover what you don’t already know.

Resteems always appreciated

Sort:  

I love this exercise, @indigoocean. It's amazing what you can hear when you really pay attention and how one can turn that into pure bliss at times.

I have noticed over the last year or so that I have been getting tinnitus. I have been eating a diet which seems to have brought it under control. It has made me super hyper sensitive to all sounds, even to the point where I can sometimes hear electricity and other people's heart beat/pulse.

I don't normally tell people, because sometimes people think I'm just going crazy. Which in a way I sometimes feel like it, but it really first blew me away at first when I would hear neighbors a 1/4 mile away sometimes talking or sounds they made. Sometimes I can hear what frequency my heartbeat, pulse and body is resonating. It does change, especially as I focus on it. That is in part because when I was young I studied and experimented with biofeedback at the Edgar Cayce Institute. There I learned how to meditatively change my vibrational frequency, among other things like meditate, do astral projection and play with those ESP cards for fun.

This reminds me of the Harmony of the Spheres or Music of the spheres, which Pythagoras proposed that the Sun, Moon and planets all emit their own unique hum based on their orbital revolution. Not to digress, but NASA actually did record each of them and they really are unique. Two things stood out to me that I remember from the study. One was that the Sun is the same frequency as the human Heart and the Om of the 4th chakra. The sound of the Sun recorded by NASA is exactly as the ancient Hindus had described it in the Vedas. The second was that the Earth has the sounds of tropical birds (life) when recorded from space at a great distance.

Wow! Such amazing stuff. Thank you for sharing it all. My mind is really contemplating now.

Yeah, it is interesting and adds a bit of excitement to my life of late, which the depth of your post really reminded me of.

Oh man....if you got a metal roof like a lot of homes have in the country in North Carolina, it can be such a relaxing experience just listening to that unique sound. It can relax you to the point you fall asleep very easily.

Here I’m on the first floor and there is a floor above, so I’m mostly hearing it as it falls outside. Still really beautiful meditation.

Rain in the desert is extra special for the plants and animals because of how rare it is. There's definitely a powerful feeling in the air after a good rain out there.

Best wishes,
@oraclefrequency

Yes, the place transforms. First everything comes alive and is more vibrant. Then it’s as if all of life breathes in a deep breath and then relaxes into one big sigh.

The sound of the rain is one of the most harmonious and relaxing sounds that exist, it makes me think wonderful and positive things, thanks for sharing with us.

It is incredibly soothing and centering if we let it absorb our attention and a bit depressing if we struggle against it.

Awesome post @indigoocean, I've read thru a couple of your posts especially on Get More of the Wanted and Less of the Unwanted post and I wholeheartedly agree with your posts and resonates with me.

By the way I came across your blog cause I saw it on Minnowbooster's whitelist application and have approved it so you should be whitelisted shortly and should be elligible for big upvotes. Its basically the same as smart market but more profitable. Good luck!

Thank you so much for your kind words about my writing, and for the whitelisting 😀

I like it, you can even do this with your own thoughts if you make them generic like ha ha

We've been having some great rainstorms and one awesome thunderstorm recently here in MT

Beautiful post, I love watching and listening to the rain, its so relaxing.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 35.17% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80