Sort:  

Ugh, we're going through a similar thing... we moved from a super concrete apartment downtown to a house on a 5 acre block... and our electricity bill went from like $30 a month to $300... and while I don't know for certain, I'm sure it's the central heating.

I work from home, and have a tiny little heater in my study, and like you I've got jackets and gloves on... but when my partner comes home she blasts the central heating for hours until she goes to bed. I'm trying to work out ways to curb that, but haven't found a solution yet. $600 in 2 months is pretty much where we're at too... and yeah, winter hasn't truly hit yet. We're in OR.

Wow. Having lived in CA so long, and Hawaii before that, I hadn't realized that heating prices were so high in parts of the country that get real Winter. That these are normal prices is just incredible.

Well, hope you figure something out. Maybe convince your partner to start wearing long johns under her clothes in the evening? They make silk ones. Or a hot water bottle. They make some pretty jewel toned ones and if you keep one on your lap in the evenings it really makes a difference. I have all that from many years ago when I lived in a place in CA with no heat (while I was saving up to buy my first house). Thankfully I held onto it all and have been using it the last day.

Thanks! I've just gotten her some electronically heated socks and a top that she can bluetooth from her phone. No idea if it's terrible or useful, but if it doesn't work then yes, long johns it is! She will be spending 3 weeks over Christmas and New Years in Australia, so she'll have a chance to thaw out.

For me it has always been the other way around! Always looking on how to use the air conditioning less as it is so expensive to keep the house cool at times! I don't even know what propane is in these parts but can't imagine in that weather how much heat is needed! Great to hear you were saved!

I guess it depends a bit on where you live and which is more extreme. I did have to buy something called a swamp cooler my first Summer here. But it doesn't really get that hot here, and always a dry heat. There are some hot, humid areas that I can definitely see depending on a lot of AC!

That's frustrating. Very nice of the man to come deliver on a day that they normally wouldn't have done so. Good thing you listed to your intuition!

I've been doing similar calculations for my own house. It's tough to see the heater running so much when we haven't even technically hit winter. It would be nice if it warmed up a little so we don't break the bank before even getting to the (winter) battle.

This is a whole aspect of life I had forgotten existed!

Stay warm!!! We are experiencing cold in Nigeria too right now, but nothing compared to yours.

Cold in Nigeria! What is happening in this world.

Yah cold in Nigeria, it has always been like this for a longtime, especially in the northern part of Nigeria.

Propane is good clean and hot heat! I used to live where it is cold. All my life until the last 5 years I missed winter all together. An American living in the Philippines. Glad you got your fuel in time!

Glad you're getting to live in the Philippines!

It iis very nice here! Thanks

Wow! $600 in two months is pretty stout. Here in the Pacific Northwest, it's the electric bill we worry about — we have electric heat; a propane tank will last us a year. During a cold month, though, we quickly close in on $300 in electric charges.

Good reminder of the things we take for granted, though. And that they come with a cost.

Bright Blessings!

Well now you can count yourself lucky that it's $300 only at the worst point, not in Fall! It's all relative though. Someone was just saying it even gets cold in Nigeria this time of year. I had never even imagined it, thinking all of Africa warm all year.

What a good read! Oh my goodness... I have been spoiled... I need to lower my thermostat. I keep asking myself what is the use of all my sweaters... I can't use them all at the same time.... now I can, LOL!

Even now that I have a full propane tank (and know I need to check levels once a month) I'm still keeping up most of my changes. I did turn things back up to 69 except overnight. It was just too cold at 65.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @indigoocean!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.722 which ranks you at #1488 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #75.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 11.66% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17