This place is too busy for me

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I’ve been chatting a lot with local Santa Fe folks since getting here last weekend, and a funny thing they all seem to say to me is how this place may be too small and slow for me coming from the San Francisco area.

Ah, no, it’s actually pretty busy here for my tastes. But then I wasn’t living in San Francisco proper. I was in the hills outside the city, with a vineyard and horse farm on my street, which was a dead end at a large farm. Cars rarely went by, and even then, on only one road near my house.

Here? This is more like a suburb than a city, but a busy suburb. Cars are always whizzing by within earshot, no matter what street I take a walk on. It isn’t congested or densely populated, and nature is all around, but so are a lot of whizzing cars. It’s noisy.

Of course, having an injured back doesn’t help, since I can’t hop in a car myself and get to the more remote areas just outside of town. I’m definitely looking forward to feeling better so I can do more. I’m particularly looking forward to a couple weeks in Taos coming up. I suspect that will be very still and quiet.

It’s funny though how a place is a monolith in people’s minds. SF Bay Area means big city hustle and bustle to most people, even though there is an incredible diversity of life experience in that 20 mile radius that constitutes the Bay Area.

I’m looking forward to discovering more of the diversity of this place. In the meantime, here is a shot of another part of my yard here, followed by one of a lovely necklace I bought from Native American jewelers outside the museum at the Plaza yesterday.

image.jpg

Lovely blue turquoise...
image.jpg

Sort:  

I hope to visit California one day. I do have a few friends I grew up with out in L.A., they keep telling me I would love it out there. I did like Las Vegas though, but I want to venture out to the west coast from Washington down to California. That is a beautiful necklace.

CA has an incredible diversity of terrrains and climates, as well as lifestyles. It really has something or everyone. I enjoyed living out among the horses and trees, but being able to be in SF if I wanted in less than half an hour (if I avoided rush hour). I thought coming to Santa Fe I’d be going to an even more quiet place, but no. It’s just got no big center like SF, but I’m also staying in an area that is much more busy with traffic than where I lived in the hills. I’m sure there are people living outside Santa Fe who are also having a very peaceful experience, and then coming into little Santa Fe for their “city” experience.

ah! yes santa fe is quite busy! i prefer the outlying towns as well. we lived in taos for a year, as i think i mentioned, and it's such a special place. outlying towns hold such gems of art, culture, connection, etc, when you're well enough to explore!!! <3 especially the trip to taos from santa fe or even "the high road" from santa fe which goes through some truly cool small towns, are very neat. happy exploring! i hope to visit this area of the world again before too long <3

Sante Fe is a great place to visit; I bet living there is even better.
That necklace is beautiful and I like your yard.

Some people seem to think so. I am really enjoying the necklace though.

Interesting. I love California.

So do I, but I’m not there anymore. Now the challenge is learning to love this new place.

Congratulations @indigoocean! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 44.87% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09