This Planet Blows My Mind

in #life6 years ago

I mentioned yesterday that sometimes you can hear the rain, but not be getting rained on. Within monsoons it will sometimes rain on just one house. In this picture you can see where there are clouds over just one property, which happens to also be the direction in which the sun is setting, making for quite the heavenly photo. It had just stopped raining on them.

sky.jpg
(Photo taken from the patio, looking west)

This behavior of monsoons is one of the many new things I've learned since moving to this place. I can't believe I've gone this long in life not knowing things considered everyday just a day's drive from where I've lived the majority of my adult life.

Another fascinating thing I've learned since moving here is that where there is now desert in NM, there used to be ocean!

That's why there is sand everywhere and the rock formations you see look just like you would see if you were walking the floor of an ocean. Minus the sky, doesn't this just look like something you'd find at the bottom of the sea?

stone-arch-828730_1280.jpg
(Photo source: Pixabay)

There are even some museums with fossils from that ocean period, which is definitely on my list of places to visit sometime.

From the University of New Mexico website:

During the Paleozoic, most of the North America was part of a large landmass called Pangaea. The state was covered by a vast shallow sea, from which large deposits of limestone, sandstone and shale accumulated. These limestone beds can now be found in many areas of New Mexico, often containing small marine invertebrate fossils such as brachiopods, crinoids and trilobites. During the later part of the Paleozoic, the ancestral Rocky Mountains formed, uplifting the central and northern part of the state. Toward the southern part of New Mexico, a great barrier reef developed. As the reef was cut off from the sea, the evaporation of the water left deposits of salt, potash and gypsum that can be found today. . . .

In the Mesozoic era . . . the inland sea once again returned and New Mexico was on the western shore of a great shallow ocean covering most of the central United States.

There are also a few lakes left in the state even now. (Granted this is still a dry, dry place, with only a month or two the entire year in which it rains at all, and snow in Winter that melts quickly. This is not what you would call a haven for beach lovers.)

It fascinates me to think that I am walking on what was once the bottom of the ocean. It also fascinates me to realize just how much I have yet to learn about this country I've called home my entire life. And then there's the world! What other wild and wonderful truths are out there, waiting to be learned of by more people?

Are there any surprising facts you've learned about the area you live in? Now I'm ready to have my mind blown.

Sort:  

earth is beautiful

Another fascinating thing I've learned since moving here is that where there is now desert in NM, there used to be ocean!

Thats pretty cool I wasn't aware of that either. I heard on a podcast not too long ago that we have only explored like 5% of the ocean's floors. Imagine what could possible be down there that we haven't discovered yet.

It really is something juicy to think about, isn't it? The ocean is like another planet, in so many ways. At least in terms of what we take for granted as "reality" up here on land.

Oh for sure! It's weird too because there's always support and excitement towards exploring space, but rarely the same enthusiasm for exploring the ocean which we have much better access to.

I know there are some projects right now working to map the entire ocean floor with sonar technology for some of the reasons stated below. This particular project said they expect it to take 13 years if they can enlist the help of around 100 ships.

The shape of the ocean floor helps determine weather patterns, when and where tsunamis will strike and management of fisheries that feed millions.

You're making me think more about seeing if someday I can learn to scuba dive. I'm a terrible swimmer (can never breathe well enough and tend to sink) but with scuba you have a breathing tank and are supposed to sink, so maybe!

My husband took me snorkeling at Penecamp when we were 18. I told him it really freaked me out, but he promised me that once I was out there I would be amazed. But it actually creeped me out too much. I have some weird phobia of fish and sea life and the sea.

LOL, well sometimes we know ourselves best! Your husband I'm sure thought you'd have fun. My phobia used to be of the water itself, as in drowning. I eventually learned that it was a rational fear not a phobia, because I truly was a terrible swimmer.

Ha ha ha. Man, I love swimming. I love lakes! There's this beach in Minneapolis named Bare Ass Beach. (Yes, it's a nude beach, and no we didn't go nude, but I did try some topless floating since it was just my partner and my good friend there. 🙂) But anyway, the lake it's on is so frickin' clear. And I swam alllllllll the way across it. It's the most peaceful things ever. Lakes. Yes.

Oceans. Noppppppe.

I have never scuba dived myself. Only snorkeling in Guam for me, which I enjoyed a lot. I always like the idea of free diving, but that's something I would have to train for in order to get any enjoyment out of it.

The ocean is like another planet

That's why it creeps me out to go in it! It's like entering a foreign world.

Thanks for the history and the pictures are incredibly beautiful @indigoocean. I did a curation on you here: https://steemit.com/life/@rensoul17/creating-a-better-curation

I saw it. Thanks so much!

I really want to experience the desert in a really deep way. I feel called to Sedona.

That is definitely one of the power vortexes for the Earth. If you feel called there, try to make this the year you finally go, even if just for a week. Desert energy is a very different energy than I've ever experienced before.

I've only been to the west coast once, but the next time I'm out there, I will see that ocean floor to behold it's beauty.

Maybe you'll take up scuba diving! If I was a decent swimmer I would, but actually I'm a terrible swimmer, so should not do water sports.

Actually I'm an excellent swimmer but an incident back in 2009 at Carolina Beach has caused me to NEVER swim in the ocean ever again. I was about 100yards or more from the shore with three big ass sharks near me. 🦈 👀🤯
I never knew they were there until everyone was made to get out but lifeguards. My wife told me she saw them and was freaking out but I was so far out that I couldn't hear her. I will only love to see the dry ocean floor there.

Wow! Maybe only diving in areas where there are no sharks. I don't know where that would be, but I presume they don't go everywhere.

What an interesting experience that you have, where I live is completely flat, there are five types of soils, including dunes. I can not imagine what it will be like to walk on that surface that you show. Greetings.

Dunes sound really cool!

wow amazing shots, this planet is very amazing and very unique, and we are lucky to live on this planet

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by IndigoOcean from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This behavior of monsoons is one of the many new things I've learned since moving to this place. I can't believe I've gone this long in life not knowing things considered everyday just a day's drive from where I've lived the majority of my adult life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71