Sort:  

I rely once again on a line from Max Ehrman's Desiderata that I will actually chant. "But do not distress yourself with dark imaginings. Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness. Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself." How many times do we sweat things that never come to pass, or do not turn out to be as unpleasant as we feared.

What a perfect way of putting it. I love the admonition also to appreciate "a wholesome discipline." That often gets lost at the opposite pole. Balance is so difficult for we humans.

You're making me think I need to go back and read Desiderata again. I read it in high school English, but that was a very long time ago.

I have a copy hanging on my wall in my shop. I have also wood burned one of my favorite lines in a piece of cherry and have it hanging in my livingroom.

In answer to your question, if possible I would break away from the thing that frustrates me, at least for a while.

At the same time I would work on a few tasks that can easily be accomplished but which, coming in a streak, would boost my mood, so that the next time I have to deal with the frustrating problem (if it doesn't go away "by itself"), it won't feel as frustrating any more, or I will come up with a solution easier.

That's a really good idea. When you get off the subject you can't control and do some things you can control, it gets you back into a winning streak.

I don't know whether to say that I shift my mood in the face of dissapointment. I think I will say that I recover from the disappointment fast.

It would be interesting to explore how you do that.

I don't know really. I think it is a natural built in mechanism, something a lot of people might not know.

Juicy question, @indigoocean! And great answers poppin' up. I nurture my senses as a (needful) way of life, so drastic mood shifts have lessened a lot over the years.

But when I do dip, allowing my wise inner impulse to reach for the just-right aromatics, music, movement, nap-reset, etc. always lifts.

The training for me started with starving the things I don't want, and feasting the things I do want. Chosen focus. <--- It always seems to return to that.

Such a crucial commitment that I hope everyone can eventually make for themselves. To commit to focusing on the wanted instead of worry about the unwanted!

Walk, walk and walk, then when i'm tired I sit in a public place (like a park) and I like watch how people enter and gone of my eyesight.

That's a really powerful meditation. I wonder if you even think of it as meditating.

In answer to your question: Moving, changing my thinking, meditation, get in nature, play with my dog. Those are some, there are plenty more.

Expecting to receive does manifest as you pointed out.

I enjoyed your post. ;)

Those are ones that work for me too. Especially anything with nature or my dog. And really, dogs are a part of nature, aren't they? They're still fully integrated with it. The more we are too, the more we just know who we are.

Nailed it.
This is my attitude towards anything. I'm always gonna win .

If you don't believe in you, who will?

I try to think how lucky I am to have the life I have lived thus far and remember people have far worse situations. Some times I will work out as I feel it does a great job of clearing my head.

Gratitude is a powerful medicine. So is physical activity. A lot of people seem to get moving when they are feeling down.

I know I am not there yet but I am happy that I have realized before it is too late the adjustments I need to do. My life has been so focused on providing for others that I had never focus on myself which has impacted my ability to truly know what I even want. However, I have slowly become to appreciate the simple things in life which has given me perspective in my journey toward freedom and happiness.

You've nailed the heart of the path, knowing what you want.

I can recall so many years ago that a supervisor in my therapy training program was asking me if I knew what I wanted. You might wonder why a supervisor would ask such a question, but she saw it as a part of my being a good support to others to first be able to support myself. To her, that started by knowing what I wanted.

I'll share with you the exercise she gave me then: Every hour, as close to the top of the hour as you can manage, ask yourself three questions. 1) What do I want? 2) Why do I want it? and 3) What's one thing I could do to move me in the direction of getting it?

Hi @indigoocean!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.542 which ranks you at #1804 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 1812).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 291 contributions, your post is ranked at #54.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74