Doubt, Uncertainty, Fear. Prepping for baby #2 ~ #everythinghappensforareason

in #life5 years ago

Any day now our family of three will become a family of four. Life over the past 6 months or so has been quite the whirlwind. I quit my great job and took a leap of faith to join a start up. It was a lot of fun and I learned invaluable lessons. Failure being the biggest lesson of them all. How does it feel to fail? Not good is all I can surmise. But what I learned was that there are benefits of failure. Lessons to be learned for the future. Also taking words and grandiose promises with grains of salt. I wouldn't change what happened, because I believe everything happens for a reason. But I won't sit here and say that it wasn't tough, arduous, or scary. It certainly was.

fear.jpg
source

Interview after interview. Hope and the subsequent phone call or email of rejection eventually takes a toll on a man. Uncertainty and the unknown are my biggest fears. I just want to know what the plan is, what's in store for me, for us. I was never too worried that it would all work out, but the anticipation and lack of control over it all was unnerving to say the least.

When your life and immediate future are in the hands of someone else, all you can do is hope. In the meantime, we had to start prepping for baby #2, a little boy to go along with our precious girl.

I moved my office downstairs to clear out the second spare bedroom which would now be called the new nursery. Time to paint and get it all set up. When we bought the house, this room had two doors which allowed you to walk through the room from the hallway straight into the living room. We closed up the living room door to make it a common bedroom.

IMG_2119.jpg

First order of business after that was getting rid of the old wall paper which I found out quickly was really just a banner with the same color blue painted beneath it. I scored the whole wall and then found this out. Oh well, I figured the new coat of paint would fill up thew holes and it did, albeit more coats than I had anticipated.

IMG_2152.jpg

After scoring the banner, and then spraying it with wall paper removal solution, it scraped off quite easily. Next I used a primer to cover up the lower blue portion and to give the walls a nice new coat for the new color to adhere to.

IMG_2604.jpg

Once all the old blue was sufficiently covered, the wife taped off one wall where she wanted a design she had seen. She always has her sights set on cool designs, thanks Pinterest. We painted that whole wall a light blue gray color and waited for the paint to dry. Once it was dry, we removed the tape and out came the design. We both think it turned out really well.

IMG_3033.jpg

IMG_3036.jpg

IMG_3055.jpg

It's funny how much stock we put into things that are minute flickers of despair in our overall lifetimes. I get it. For sure I do. But life has a way, like waves hitting the shore, of swaying back and forth. Good times and bad times.

This room and the presence that will fill it in the next few days or weeks, is surely a tidal wave of goodness that was meant to be.

Amazing what a coat of paint and some charismatic lines can do to replenish a mans spirit and hope for the future. Along with a new job that settles some uncertainty, that doesn't hurt either.

Thanks for reading and Steem on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34