Why Amazon is Taking Over Retail

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Here is a perfect example of why Amazon is taking over brick-and-mortar business

This can be summarized in a story:

I needed some 8.5 x 11 labels for some package. While I was out and about running errands, I stopped by Office Depot. While there, I saw this:

It's a 100 pack of 8.5 x 11 labels, just what I was looking for. But $37 seemed a bit expensive for sticky paper.

Should I just buy it or...

What do I do, standing in the isle at Office Depot? I whip out my phone, check amazon and found this:

560 reviews, 4.5 stars, exactly the same product, + 10 extra sheets of paper. It's only $13 (!!!). Oh and free 2nd day shipping and when I use my Amazon card, I get 5% back as an Amazon Credit. ($0.65)

If this isn't enough reason to NOT buy from Office Depot and go home and wait less than 48 hours for the product to arrive at my door, I don't know what is!

Comparison Per Sheet

At Office Depot the total with tax would be $36.99 + $2.22 MI sales tax = $39.21 / 100 sheets = $0.39 per sheet

The Amazon Prime version came to a total of $12.95 - $0.65) = $12.30 / 110 = $0.11 per sheet

I got these on Amazon for less than 1/3rd the price per sheet!

So given the choice between $0.11 per sheet and $0.39 per sheet, I'll take the dime and penny version - thank you very much.

So this is the future of retail - people walking into brick-and-mortar stores, looking at the items and checking out comparable products on Amazon Prime to see if they can get a better deal. I sure did.

For the price of waiting 48 hours at home for delivery, I'm receiving the same quality product delivered to my door at 1/3rd the price. This saves the company money and it could have saved me some time heading out to the store.

I didn't buy it at Office Depot

I put the 100 pack box back on the shelf and walked towards the door. I had already purchased the Amazon version with a few taps on my phone. Feeling a little bad walking in and not purchasing anything, I grabbed a hand sanitzer bottle in the checkout for a dollar. They got my business after all!

Have you ever had an experience like this? Let me know in the comments below.

@ironshield


Benjamin Turner: God fearer. Rooted in Messiah. Husband of @lturner. Father of four wonderful children. The guy behind the camera. Steemit enthusiast.

Bless the Most High!

Have you been introduced to Menē yet?

Menē (Meen-nay) is a 24K gold and platinum investment jewelry company, where investors can trade their crypto-currencies for certified gold and platinum items. Preserve your wealth in precious metals and begin your Menē collection today.

Receive a $5.00 Gift Certificate using the link below:
https://mene.com/invite/YHDw

ALL PHOTOS ORIGINAL TO THE AUTHOR UNLESS OTHERWISE SPECIFIED.

Sort:  

a2ed3e7c688dad7be7f57587718023b359299416efc50839c3952c077912ca59.gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

It really is nearly impossible to compete. This kind of thing happens to me often. Was in Walmart a couple weeks ago to buy a small space heater. It was $38. Went on Amazon and had purchased the same heater for $26 including shipping, before I walked out of the store.

It happens all the time. Thankfully, Office Depot was pretty much empty and the employees didn't seem to care much.

You said Home Depot at the end. Wasn’t it Office Depot?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ha, you're right! Since I work from a Home/Office I guess I get the two confused! I'll fix it. Good catch!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Hi, @ironshield!

You just got a 2.11% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @ironshield!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.389 which ranks you at #2214 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 2218).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 236 contributions, your post is ranked at #77.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

howdy sir ironshield! oh my gosh that's amazing. Next time you'll start looking at Amazon first.

Good job washing your hands of office depot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93