A Rose Colored Pit of Despair

in #life5 years ago

So, it all started with a phase of depression.
A string of days that turned into weeks.
Why?
I wish I knew.
People often ask, "Why are you depressed?"
to which I reply, "Why aren't you depressed?"

I jest.
I don't have an answer.
Am I focusing too much on the negative?
There's plenty of negative to go around.
How do I stop focusing on it when it's consistently slapping me in the face like angry pellets of cold, hard rain?


I tried to find my rose colored glasses but I think they fell into my pit of despair the other day.


Anyhoo....

I was losing playing some Steem Monsters Battles earlier and a few words popped into my head, and I was like, "Hey, maybe I'll write some poetry"........

Lost
Directionless
Floating in the wind
More like a hurricane

Used
Dried up
Nothing to give
It's ok cuz I'm so tired anyway

As I was writing this, Jeffy the cat came over and was like "Damn Ma, that's some straight up depressing sheeet there."

He then insisted that I dictate one of his poetic masterpieces to give me an idea of what real poetry should sound like:

I am just a tiny kitty
I have stinky feet
Why are you not paying attention to me?
Food

I like to lay upon the laptop
It's warm and toasty on me bum
I do not care that I just deleted your Steemit post
Feed me

I wake you up all throughout the night
I step on your chest with my pointy toes
You will give me your hand so I can rub me chin on it
I will give you my purrs and me tiny wet nose

That's some seriously amazing poetry right there folks.

As I was typing that for Sir Jeffy, Snibby the cat got jealous and now they are both on my lap.
It's quite difficult to type at this point.


Life is hard.


Snibby just informed me that if anyone actually takes to the time to read this post and wants to share some silly poetry in the comments, then he will offer 5 Steem to his favorite.
If there happens to be more than one winner they shall split the 5 Steem.


Vote @steemcreative for Witness!

Sort:  

there is hope
and it's but a call away
strike out decisively!!~
yearn for that 'normal' life
that you hear about on the radio
set down your resolve for just one night
cast away the lifestyle
mom told you to strive for

someone is there, you have only to reach out

and the pizza will be delivered in 30 minutes or less...

sometimes in the chill night air
I can still hear children call out
"pizza man, pizza man!"

😹 Pizza Man!!!
lol that is glorious thank you
I needed that

It’s going to be OK
Keep your chin above the water
You aren’t drowning
Even if you feel the seaweed
Pulling
At your ankles;
Love is all around you
Gulp it in
Let it buoy you
Fill your lungs
Rise your chest
Float
Transcend.

That's so beautiful, thanks Heather!

OMG. Your kitty poetry is hilarious! As for the depression thing, I understand better than I'd like. I try to focus on the positive, yet the sinking feeling inside doesn't leave. It fades, then comes back and knocks me on my ass. I banish it with joy and laughter and optimism, it sneaks back in however it can.

But yeah, silly poetry. Let's do that.

kitty purrs, loud enough to wake me
makes me feed him so I can sleep
I shut the door, lock him out
He waits till I wake, trips my feet
But he's a love, always happy
So I shall count myself lucky

Big love, my friend. Deep breaths help.

Thank you for your soothing words and glorious kitty poetry!
You are a shining light in the darkness.❤️

Poor little pouf,
haz got no foodz,
pitiful meows ensue.
Sad cat pouf,
stands by the plate,
pitiful meows for you.
Poor cat pouf,
so poor she has no money at all,
nor pockets to put it in.

OK that last one was a stretch... :-)

😹 Excelleny kitty poetry thanks Amber!

You have a big heart and see things for what they are, it's not negative it's just the temperature of the world that we live in. What is unusual is if you dont feel depressed with what's happening globally.

Keep up the good work and feel worthy that your heart is responsive to what is real.

That´s exactly what I thought but I wouldn´t have been able to find the right words. Thank you for that.

So true, thank you for reminding me of this perspective.
💕

you have some seriously magical talking kitties there @isaria ... you are very blessed to have them.

I can't believe how well they write poetry!
Do you still have the cute lil kitten?

2018-11-02 22.07.22.jpg

I do .. his name is Hobo.. I think Fawnya has a handle err paw on him

awww yay so you're keeping him??

Oh yeah. I expect I’d have two ticked off adult cats to deal with and he’s pretty sweet

Posted using Partiko iOS

You are able to convey your sorry and your dark dim thoughts into beautiful songs and poetry, aching, hurtful but also healing...
My life is far from perfect and I have my own dark moments... and it seems that we are told to conceal the darkness, noone wants a sad face, noone wants a gloomy aura, but most of I create comes from it, from my try to understand myself... and I'm not ashame of my "shadow" its projects from "me" too. Hugs

Love and hugs
💕

I think depression is one of those things that finding out the origin, why it started, doesn't really help. The only thing that helps me when I'm feeling down is to focus on a goal and then giving myself mini tasks to get there, even if it's hard to enjoy small achievements, it's worth trying, because you got yourself moving and no longer in the same mindset.

BTW, I love the kitty poet! It's definitely an inspiration for a future illustration hahaha.

Thank you so much for your thoughtful insight.
💕

Good article! subscribed to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03