It doesn't have to hurt

in #life6 years ago

Exercise, exercise, exercise that's all we hear about how to cure everything that ails you. Yet it does have a significant impact on our health. Whether it's to lose weight or recover from a heart attack it's a necessary evil. But is it evil?

Have you noticed that most of the youtube videos of exercise feature people that are already fit? Or have you seen the transformational videos of those that have lost a lot of weight by extreme exercise?

Why do we do this to ourselves? I can find any number of reasons to avoid strenuous exercise each and every day. It's not that i don't want to be more fit and weigh less but fate steps in and takes charge. Some days I may have a migraine others I may be tired from insomnia. Do I want to exercise then? Of course not.

So here it is. I do try for some form of exercise every day but not like the videos. There are some I physically cannot do. Some that would require a lot of recovery time if I did try them. So aim for what you can do. And when you are starting out if all you can do is one repetition the first day that is an achievement. Try it again the next day til you can do one and a half and build on it.

Rome was not built in a day. Factor that in when you are changing your body shape. Slow and steady wins the race. Rapid weight loss is often followed by regaining the weight. And roman roads have lasted for thousands of years maybe they had the right idea.

Sort:  

It actually takes a long time to build a strong body. The main thing is to keep working, slowly but steadily. Many people injure themselves diving into things and give up shortly thereafter

I will never be an athlete but I have been working myself back to health and a reasonably fit state for more than 2 years. After an illness I had I was unable to climb a flight of stairs without needing to sit down for 10 minutes after. I changed my diet and started walking. At first I could only go to the end of the block and back but each day I tried for a bit further. I now usually do a minimum of 2 miles and have loads more energy. I dropped from 170 lbs to 145. My large dog is my walking companion and the walking is doing good things for his weight and health.

You are doing it right!

You have a great attitude. That's a key part of lasting change, I think. :)

There are days when I still have to talk myself into getting up and going for a walk. Max is a big help. He gets so excited to go for a walk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99