Life In North Korea Vs South Korea: My Visual Comparison After Visiting Them Both

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys!

I've been traveling the world for the past 4.5 years, during which time I grew my YouTube channel to over 245,000 subscribers and my Instagram account to 22,500 followers.

I joined Steemit 6 months ago, made my first introductory post and then got too busy with life to keep on posting.

However, my good friends @timsaid, @thelifeofjord and @christopherdodd have been having tons of fun creating content on Steemit and I thought I should go for it too.

So without further ado, here's a post about my my life in North Korea vs. South Korea that includes two of my most viral videos on YouTube. Let's go!

Screen Shot 2018-07-12 at 4.11.39 PM.png


One year ago I went on a strictly guided 7-day tour in North Korea, where they took away my passport and didn't allow me to explore anything on my own.

After that trip I made a video on YouTube that went completely viral with 9,637,831 views at the time of writing.

Check it out here:

North Korea was definitely the weirdest country I had ever visited and during my time there I kept wondering what life was like in the neighboring South Korea, which used to be exactly the same country just over 60 years ago!

That's why at the end of that trip I promised myself to visit South Korea this year so that I could compare my experiences in both of those countries.

Those pairs of pictures you'll see below show the differences of life in both Koreas - first one stands for South, and the second stands for North.

Free Time

1.jpg

In South Korea a lot of people spent their time having picnics with their friends and families, whereas in North Korea they would practice for all the various parades happening in the country every year.

Youth

2.jpg

In South Korea the youth wore clothes of various bright colors and expressed themselves in any way they wanted to, whereas in the North everyone wore similar clothes usually in dark or gray colors.

Parking Lot

3.jpg

In South Korea most people could afford to buy cars and that's why there were millions of them, however in the North having a car was a great privilege that only the richest people could afford.

University

4.jpg

In South Korea the Universities that I visited had all the newest amenities the students needed, whereas the one University my guides allowed me to visit in the North felt like the early 20th century, not the 21st.

Train Station

5.jpg

In South Korea they had some of the fastest bullet trains in the world, however in the North the trains definitely weren't as advanced.

Once I came back from South Korea, I made another video on YouTube, during which I compared my life in both of the two Koreas. This video also did quite well and has 8,133,839 views at the time of writing.

Check it out here:

Thank you very much for reading the post, I really hope you enjoyed it!

I'm pretty new to Steemit still, but I'll do a lot more posts in the future about my travels and this really cool blockchain project that I'm running.

Let me know what you would like me to post about in the comments below and follow me for more updates in the future!

Life's short, why waste a second?

Sort:  

great comparison so well done, great job

@jacoblaukaitis

You are right life is short. Why we lose a second ?
You have experience in visiting south and north korea
Great post by your experience :)

Once you learn to care, you can record images with your mind or on film. There is no difference between the two. https://steemit.com/photography/@photographyideas/6-awesome-photography-tips-and-tricks-for-beginners

Very Valuable post for steemit Community. Thanks

Thanks @kurosawa! Glad to hear that.

You got a 50.50% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @steemium!

You got a 29.62% upvote from @edensgarden courtesy of @blockgators!

Welcome to Steem Community @jacoblaukaitis! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Source
#introduceyourself/#introducemyself

The “introduceyourself/introducemyself” tag is for creating one introductory post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.

More information:

The Game of Tags

Soon we will travel and conquer the world together!

Welcome (back) Bro!

Absolutely, bro! Can't wait for that to happen! :)

Conquer that place north korea as well..haha..

right bro @timsaid .......

You got a 34.37% upvote from @th3voter thanks to: @steemium!



Image Source cloudinary.com


This post has upvoted from @th3voter !For more information, click here!

You can earn daily profit by delegating SP to our bot, 100% of earnings paid out to delegators. To do so, click below:
30SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP, 10000SP,
Custom Amount
Make sure you have at least 15 SP left on your account.

Very cool stuff. I like the side by side comparisons... highlights the differences much more dramatically. The phrase "digital nomad" is something I've only really heard over the last few months. I assume that's what you are, financing your travel with YouTube vids and subscribers and such. When I have some time, I'll check out the videos.

In any case, congrats! Sounds like you found the dream.

Nice comparison!

very very cool juxtaposition - i'd like to check out north korea some day

The video is really informative, and your pictures comparing South Korea with North is a great idea :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85