(IJCH) BBC NEWS: Venezuela President Maduro survives "drone assassination attempt" (or Why I don't bring my toy drone to the restobar anymore)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

(IJCH) BBC NEWS: Venezuela President Maduro survives "drone assassination attempt" (or Why I don't bring my toy drone to the restobar anymore)

Source

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (Meaning: My Warped, Personal Opinions and Musings)

Source

From the Author:

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

source

I invite you to interact with everyone, learn, and have as much fun as possible!

For my returning online friends, "It's always great to see you again!"

A Normal Outing

Source

Recently, I took my 15 y/o daughter to a favorite restobar that has a swimming pool. It's always a fun time for both of us. She can swim with other teenagers and I can have a few beers and shoot the shit with my buddies.

Source

Usually, we bring our devices (e.g., iPad, laptop, mobile phones, etc...). But for the last couple months, I would bring my toy drone (a very unsophisticated monstrosity that I built solely to increase my knowledge in both mini-single board computing and DIY drone technology).

Source

I let all the kids (and many adults) maneuver the drone; resulting in a lot of fun...usually.

I have since decided not to bring the drone to such outings anymore.

Why?

A few of the customers got VERY UPSET and asked my buddy, the owner, to stop the drone fun. It reminded a few of the Arabic and South American customers of U.S. drone strikes!

Huh? WTF!?! I mean, it's just a toy, right?

Source

Then, I stumbled across this article from the BBC news:

Venezuela President Maduro survives "drone assassination attempt"

Source

Two drones loaded with explosives went off near the president's stand, Communications Minister Jorge Rodriguez said.

Source

Source

I guess it's really not that big of a deal to keep my drone play away from my favorite restobars...

But drones are so damn cool!

Source

By JaiChai

Mighty Kind of You for stopping by.

Truly hope to see you again!

Source

About the Author

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he performed high altitude, free-fall parachute jumps and hazardous diving ops in deep, open ocean water.

AM490.jpg

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single papa and actively pursuing his varied passions (Writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - plus more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

busy animated gif.gif
Source

(More articles by JaiChai can be found on the Busy.org website. Use this link to visit Busy.org. Better yet, come join the Busy.org community!)


CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

asapers.png
("Join the A.S.A.P.ers Discord Channel")

JC320 black line frame.jpg
Source

"My mind was a terrible thing to waste..." - JaiChai

Sort:  

Drones are a lot of fun but they can be used for very shady stuff. In US they are used a lot to smuggle drugs.

He did not even flinch. Something is up there. Everyone one ran for the hills. A pipe bomb would do more damage.
I am leaning to he did it. Not sure but kinda looks that way.

Hi @jaichai

Unfortunately people are very often afraid of drones. They expect that someone may want to spy on them or abuse their privacy. When I fly my drone, people usually ask me if I have a recording camera or what is the purpose of flying here. They very seldom understand that it is just fun.

All the best

Drones is some extension of our own body, to move and to see beyond our biological limit. However, not easy to control whether it is intended for good or bad. Good to expose kids on this new tech :)

I live in Venezuela, and in fact it is not known if it was a real attack or a kind of false flag to repress politically, the government linked in an extraordinary and quickly effective way some opposition leaders with that attack.

They even makes extravagant claims like that the president of Colombia was behind the attack, and that the drone was directed from the United States. (I suppose that the government of the United States and Colombia don't have more effective weapons.)

Greetings.

Thank you for visiting and commenting.

Namaste, JaiChai

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 82.76% Upvote. Send 0.5 SBD or STEEM to @steemvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13