I Reckon it's Time to Ditch Clocks

in #life6 years ago

howdy folks!
Greetings from the Great Plains..it's another gorgeous day here,
very peaceful.

n lawn.JPG

I'm kinda laying around like this guy:

longhorn.jpg

He better not eat any of those Bluebonnets though, that's against the
law here in Texas because it's the state flower ya know. I mow em
down all the time on our property but don't tell the Flower nazis or I
could be in heap big trouble!

I saw this article that I found interesting about "old fashioned" clocks
being taken out of classrooms in England. You know, the kind that have
the minute and hour hands, they are mechanical and move around the
face of the clock?

Is that analog as opposed to digital? I don't know I'm a dinosaur.

I'm so old fashioned that I didn't know that mechanical clocks are old
fashioned, I just thought they were clocks that could still be used to tell
time but I guess that's not the case for school kids anymore.

Here's what this fine English chap says about it, his name is Macolm
Trobe and he is this..."the Deputy General Secretary at the Association
of School and College Leaders" and he says:

"The current generation aren't as good at reading the traditional clock
face as older generations. They are used to seeing a digital
representation of time on their phone or on their computer."

CLOCK.jpg

He goes on to say that having to figure out what time it is using
an analog clock might be too stressful during tests.
Yeah that's right! Don't want the poor babies to have any stress
while they're taking tests. That'd be stressful!

I bet they don't have them write any answers down with pens
or pencils either because that would REALLY be stressful
because they'd have to know how to write!

I'm sure this is just a sign of technology moving us along and
not anything negative right? It just seems strange to me because
I'm a dinosaur?

dino.jpg

I assume this is happening in the U.S. also? Maybe there's a teacher
out there who could fill us in.

thanks for being here my friends..
this is Dino signing off, just another Cro Magnon redneck from Texas
God bless you all!

ps- you might be a redneck if:

your mom keeps a spit can on the ironing board!

Sort:  

I am going to keep my analog watch, I like it.

me too @angiemitchell! call me primitive. lol!
God bless you down in Australia, I was shocked to hear about
the family that was murdered there, that is not typical of your country.

This guy is admitting that the teachers over there are too lazy to teach it. That was something I learned before I went to school. I must be a dinosaur too. What's so difficult about learning to tell time on an analogue clock? It's not like we're asking them to tell time with a sundial!

Teachers don't even have to teach anything about the clock behind their head. Staring at the clock told me exactly how many more seconds I had to endure the teacher's boring lecture.

The motivation for removing the clocks is probably something even more embarrassing like teachers who don't know how to read clocks and aren't able to tell if the clock in their room is broken.

oh man! another comment doubting the character or intelligence of teachers. That would be embarrassing if it's true and again, I suppose that may be the case! But I hope not but great comment @yintercept, I appreciate it!

too lazy? oh my I hope not, that wouldn't look good for the education system but I can see that as a possibility. thanks for the comment fellow dinosaur!

Cool! I was able to drop three pennies on your threads this AM!

thank you sir! did you let your power get to full strength? sometimes my votes are worth a cent but most times nothing, I'm not understanding this very well.

I think you have to be above 90% to actually bestow any actual value on anyone. I'll be at 100% in 12 hours, if I stop upvoting until then...lol...(It's hard, as I am sure you know...)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77