Letters To My Son: Thank YousteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

TMS_Head_001.jpg

Dear Son,

When you were born, some fifteen years ago now, I wanted to make a well rounded man out of you. I wanted to teach you about life and show you the way. I wanted to set you on the path to success. But over those years, you have been my friend, teacher, and guide. You have made me a better person and taught me how to live life.

It's quite joyful to reflect on who I have become because of you. From the moment you joined us you have brought your mother and I ever closer together. At first it was because we needed to care for you together, but later it was because you showed us what we had achieved together. You have been a wonderful binding force in our family of three.

When you were young, your vulnerability, innocence, and excitable energy taught me many lessons about myself. Your smile and laugh have always been infectious and still remain one of my great motivators. Your curiosity and desire to explore our world inspired me.

Your unconditional love has always sustained me, even in my darkest hours. Knowing that I mattered to you and that you wanted me around has helped me to see part of my place in the world and drove me to be less selfish. Your warmth as a person has shown me how to be kinder to others.

There isn't a time in the last fifteen years where you have let me down. Your attitude towards life and playful good nature has been an amazing gift for me to learn from. You build friendships with ease and adapt to new situations quickly. You have allowed our family to build an amazing life with time spent on two continents because of that.

Everything that your mum and I have achieved in our own lives would not have been possible with out you. Without knowing it you have built us up, inspired us, and given us purpose.

Thank You for it all.

Dad.

Sort:  

What a beautiful and touching tribute to your son Jason - thank you.
I too was under the popular misconception that we as parents, are the teachers to our kids.
That idea became quickly diffused!
Instead, surrendering into their innocence, innate wisdom and constant reminder of who and what we are, is such a gift.

Thanks. He is an amazing person and you are right about the gift part !

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

You got a 1.88% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @jason.che! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97