Bad behavior at the grocery store.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

Today was a long day at my restaurant. It was pretty busy despite the fact that it was cold and rainy outside.

jkjk.jpg
Pixabay

Normally when I get off work I like to stop by a few different places to check on various things that I like.

I'm talking about bookstores, grocery stores, pizza shops, beer stores, and all kinds of different places.

I was really tired when I left work today because we were so busy so I didn't really feel like stopping many places at all.

There is a McDonald's right next to the local grocery store so I made the plan to go to the grocery and then just grab a couple of burgers from McDonald's and call it good enough.

The line at the grocery store was pretty long. I stood in it for more than five minutes watching the family in front of me. Three of the people in that family had open 20 oz bottles of soda in their hands. They had each drink about half of the soda. Although they clearly intended to pay for it....this still struck me as odd that they decided to go ahead and start drinking it.

It should also be noted that this family had several very small children. These children will learn from your actions. What they learned is that it is okay to go ahead and open something at the store before you buy it if your intention is to ultimately buy it.

I don't think that's a good thing for them to learn.

Speaking of these small children, these children were constantly opening things on the end caps near the aisles. I don't mean things that you can open and then reclose either.

A woman watched as her little girl opened about four packages of baseball cards and scattered the cards on the floor. She grabbed her hand and pulled her closer but she did not pick up the cards or chastise her for opening them.

The same girl opened a couple of bags of donuts too. No one's going to be able to eat those donuts now, and no one's going to be able to sell them.

The mother and other siblings did not seem to care about this girl's actions.

I wasn't about to say anything because you cannot chastise someone else's child. I've seen someone try to do it before and believe you me that person got yelled at terribly.

I don't know what it's like to have kids because I don't have any.

However, if I did have kids I would certainly want them to emulate my own actions. I wouldn't want to eat a bag of chips at the grocery store before I paid for it because that strikes me as slovenly.

I wouldn't want to go ahead and open a two liter bottle of coke and just drink it in the middle of the aisle because that action is not something that would want my child to then later repeat.

I really can't blame these kids for acting the way that they do considering the other parents don't seem to have the ability to correct their own bad behavior.

I guess you see this kind of thing all the time especially when you work in the restaurant industry. People misbehave and they act like there's nothing wrong at all.

You could say who is really to say what kind of behavior is good and what kind of behavior is bad....

I should think at the very least some of it is really obvious though.

I see it a lot at the restaurant but I really don't like to see it at the grocery store.

If I'm at my restaurant, it's my job to clean up after you.... and I'm getting paid for it. That's one thing but when I leave work I don't want to have to be around people that are leaving trash and disrespecting the world around them.

Sort:  

Wow that's shocking that a parent would allow that. Seems very disrespectful to me. Probably setting up the kids for failure in a big way down the road as well. I couldn't really imagine watching this whole thing take place In front of me. I would feel super awkward that's for sure. The story is kind of funny though the way you tell it hahahaha

Posted using Partiko Android

We have problem parents these days with kids being in charge .... I would not be able to keep quiet. I have no problem with moaning at kids if their parents don't know how hahaha

Yeah, I see these people in the store fairly often. Their kids touching everything without reprimand it is really frustrating to me.

We had five kids between us and they all knew to keep their hands off of things that didn't belong to them. They respected other people's property.

It frustrates me at work when I see a kid do something like stick his finger in someone's coffee cup. Usually the person at that table doesn't even notice so I have to take the coffee away before he could take a drink from it.

There is no one at the grocery store that is watching these kids though if the parent isn't watching them and it definitely is a frustrating situation.

It bothers me when I see things like that too. If the stores would at least attempt to hold the parents responsible to pay for what their children destroy, it "might" make them look after the children better later. Maybe not, but still. It IS unfair to businesses to have to lose those items. It's almost the same as shop lifting in a sense. Sure, they are not trying to take them home, but they have effectively made a loss for that store.

I frequently see unattended children, some very small, allowed to play in the toy sections in stores. They may not totally destroy anything, but now those toys are used. Some you may not be able to tell, but many you can. So sad that there are so many people who have zero respect.

....and like you said, then there is no wondering why, when the children grow up to do the same.

Good luck getting parents to be responsible for their own kids. Everyone these days seems as though they want the world to take care of them without them taking care of themselves.

It's definitely a difficult life, and I know kids make a harder, at the same time I know money people aren't ready for kids but they have them anyway.

That probably has to do with their parents not teaching them when they were kids you know but it's a weird world so what are you going to do.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72