Bladerunner 2049 - TL; DR.... A missed opportunity for excellence.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I think I should start this by saying that I'm a huge science fiction fan.

I love to read science fiction novels by authors like Arthur C. Clarke, Robert Heinlein, Isaac Asimov, William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, Philip K Dick and a whole host of others.


Source: Imdb.com

I love all things science fiction. I'm constantly watching a new science fiction movie. They're not all great, but many of them are true masterpieces. In my opinion, a bad science fiction movie is much better than a good movie in any other genre.

Some of my very favorite movies are Blade Runner, The Matrix, Event Horizon, Aliens, Terminator, Close Encounters, The Thing, Donnie Darko, Mad Max.... pretty much anything that makes you think and is awesome.

Needless to say, I've seen the original Blade Runner movie probably about 100 times. I used to leave it on while I would lay in bed to help me get to sleep.

Do you like our owl?
It's artificial?
Of course it is.

and we're off to dreamland accompanied by the brilliant music of Vangelis.

It’s too bad she won’t live! But then again, who does?

There are so many amazing quotes in the original Blade Runner that I can't even begin to get started talking about them. Of course there is the line about Tears in Rain spoken by Rutger Howard which everyone knows too well.... but the truth is the entire movie is a treasure trove of brilliance.


Source: Giphy.com

So how can a movie that comes out 35 years later maintain the same level of amazement as it's predecessor?

Well, the first answer to that is really surprising to me.

Make it a direct sequel.

That's right, Bladerunner 2049 is a direct sequel to the original Blade Runner. It is not just a movie that takes place in the same world. In fact, the things that are going on in this movie are absolutely tied to the end of the first Blade Runner movie and revolve completely around Deckard and Rachel.

That's pretty cool for any diehard Bladerunner fan. However, for the casual viewer.... they will probably get lost in a world that they don't care much about because they haven't seen it before.

The argument is that this movie is very much too long. I never thought I would say that about any science fiction movie, but at 2 hours and 44 minutes I would have to agree on that point.

There is also very little action in this movie. Sure, there are a few brief fights.... and a couple of gunshots, but the reality is that nobody runs down a long corridor and gets chased while grabbing a stripper and smashing through a giant glass window..... nothing of great consequence that makes you go Oh hell yeah! happens either.

It is true that the first Blade Runner was not an action movie by any stretch of the imagination. However, it definitely had very clear points of interest. This movie is sort of like a mosaic that is lacking the brilliant music and also the beautiful scenery.


Source: Giphy.com

That's not to say there aren't beautiful parts to it....like walking through the bright orange desert.... however, I feel it could have been done in a way that would have drawn a lot more people in. Even die hard fans like myself were leaving the theaters wondering why we sat there for so long watching something that only barely resembles our beloved masterpiece.

Blade Runner 2049 is a very good movie.

It just doesn't seem to have what it takes to capture that same cult status as the original.

I really like the plot and I love the idea of what happens at the end of the last movie being tied into this one. It works really well in a lot of ways.

It also really misses the mark though. Harrison Ford's character doesn't seem much like Deckard to me. He's too bright eyed. Deckard was more of a badass. He would have been wearing a long flowing cloak. He would have been smoking a cigarette with a whiskey in his left hand the whole time. He would have been on top of everything.

Let's consider the fact that Sean Young is still alive. Why did she play no part in this movie? Is it because her character would not have aged? Well you know what.... they could have used CGI to make her look younger couldn't they?

Why did they not get another group that is of the same type as Vangelis to create a rocking soundtrack?


Source: Pixabay.com

The music is about half of enjoyment of the original movie. We're definitely missing something by not having a musical masterpiece playing in the background of this film.

Once again I will say that I like this movie, and I agree with its rating of 8.1 on IMDb. However, I think the original is the heck of a lot better because there were many missed opportunities in this sequel.

The acting by Ryan Gosling was quite good, and as a matter of fact he did seem very much like a Blade Runner.

Almost everyone else was forgettable though....as much as I hate to say it even though I really did like this movie it's not something that I will probably be thinking of in a couple of years. When it comes to watching something every night.... I'll stick with the original.

Bladerunner 2049 - TL; DR

Sort:  

Hey jeezzle! It's been too long. I love that you're still using the old logo! When I saw your post in my feed I wondered how you were doing. Great article on Bladerunner btw! Best Wishes!

Yeah I really like the logo. Why are you using a new account? Did something happen to your other account?

I'm glad you do! I had my password on my phone and on my computer. They both broke. Need to get the computer fixed. Hopefully they can do it.

Bladerunner 2049 are this movie available on youtube.If it available please give me the link i want to see it.Thanks for sharing sir @jeezzle.

I don't think it's on YouTube.

Some little thing tells me you like Blade runner. :-)

The original Blade Runner is a masterpiece.

No argument here. :-)

Many times it happens that the original can not be improved. Although it is good, I do not pass the golden test.

True enough.

I am more than action movies, however "the matrix" is a classic and every time I can I enjoy it gladly.

I'm not sure what you mean. Most of the science fiction movies that I enjoy are not about action. Bladerunner certainly isn't about action either. The Matrix is about action though and you're right it is a classic.

Completely agree.

The original, especially in it's Final Cut version, does an astounding job of considering what it is to be human. Effectively, as in the best sci-fi, humans are shown to be repetitive and robotic, and androids all too human.

The poetry is in blurring the lines, and the final moments of the original are as poignant as any moments in any movie ever made.

The sequel advances none of the poetic concerns, is overlong as you say, convoluted, and obscure, as well.

The original movie knocks the sequel out of the park, EVEN in the original version, with Harrison Ford's voiceover, and that's saying something! ;)

The original movie is one of my very favorites. Everything about it. I really thought with this sequel they were going to attempt to create something very close to the original. I really do think that they tried.

I can certainly appreciate the attempt.

You're right though. The original is all about poetry. The entire movie is one giant poem aimed at science fiction fans. The sequel is just kind of like a walk in an empty park. It's beautiful in its own way.

However, at the end of the day it's somehow dark and empty.

oh no that bad to wait for so many years for a second part of the movie and not fascinate us ... Although it has good things to highlight, it was not expected ... My favorite fiction movie is Avatar.

Avatar is not a bad movie..

These science fiction novels are incredible but I am more inclined to the movies I love seeing them

When something is original, it is very difficult to improve the content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01