Don't trust online reviews.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

It was pretty slow at work this morning so I took the opportunity to look up some items at a few different retailers online.

It seemed as though just about every single product I looked at had really good 4 and 5 star reviews.

on.jpg
Pixabay

It didn't matter what I was looking at. It could be a bar of soap that would say that it was luxurious with great lather that made you feel cleaner than you've ever felt before in your life. This was just any bar of soap. In fact, pretty much any bar of soap said something similar.

It didn't actually matter what product I was looking at. They all had similar situations. Tons of great reviews and tons of awe inspiring messages about the product.

Looking closer I noticed a small disclaimer at the bottom of most of these reviews stating that the product was given for free in exchange for the review.

Now I can tell you that not every pizza is delicious but any free pizza is pretty good in my opinion.

I can also tell you that if you want to continue receiving free stuff from us you better give us a good review is what's probably going through most of these people's minds.

It's pretty frustrating to realize that there is no law against these companies simply giving out free products which amount to free money in exchange for positive reviews. I know they say that the review shouldn't be positive and should be based on the merit of the product but that's kind of impossible if you ask me.

I'm definitely not going to be trusting any online reviews and I suggest you do the same.

Sort:  

Thousands of people making money by reviewing products online with out using that or having the service. That's why I have trust issue.
Good observation.

Posted using Partiko Android

generally speaking and i a way i "trust" the reviews. I do a lot of research thought. For example we have product A. i read the reviews in multiple sites that selling it (if it's on multiple sites). I also try and read the reviews that have 3-4 stars not the best ones and not the worst one cause they are biased and mostly fake. By the other reviews i narrow it down to what are the real issues and what aren't. it may seems like to much of a work but i do it in minutes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85