Easy Ways to Get Roughage Into Your Diet.

in #life6 years ago

If you ask most people how to get roughage into your diet they're going to tell you to eat a salad. I'm not saying that I never eat salad, but I certainly don't want to change my lifestyle so that I'm constantly eating salads. If anyone tells you they love a good salad as much as a thick juicy steak, or a fat dripping cheeseburger..... I'm sorry but they are a damn liar.

So I decided to start thinking about ways to not change my lifestyle but still get that good roughage and fiber into my diet. Like everyone else in the world, I find myself getting older with every year.


Source: Pixabay.com

As we get older our bodies don't work as well as they once did. You might remember being in high school and eating whatever you wanted without gaining any weight. Back then our bodies simply worked better. Now we have to exercise and eat right.

It's difficult when you also have to work all the time.

I'm going to list a few ways I found to get fiber and roughage into my diet without actually changing anything or going out of my way to eat healthy.

Jack in the Box tacos.

Yep. Fried, terribly bad for you, tacos from Jack In The Box. How can I possibly consider these as getting roughage into my diet? It's easy. Ask for extra lettuce.

Extra lettuce from Jack In The Box comes at no extra charge. If you ask for extra lettuce on your tacos you will get giant lettuce tacos with a tiny bit of meat in them. If you ask for six tacos with extra lettuce you will leave with a bag weighing nearly a full ton.... that's because it has at least a whole head of lettuce in it.

Just in case you're curious, the lettuce is fresh and crisp. It is exactly the same kind of lettuce you might get on a salad. Asking for extra lettuce on your Jack in the Box tacos will give you a ton of extra roughage for free without having to change a single thing in your routine.

Put frozen broccoli on that frozen pizza.

Picking up a frozen pepperoni pizza after a long day of working? Grab a bag of broccoli florets while you're at it.

If you cover the top of the pizza with half the bag of florets you will wind up with a broccoli and pepperoni pizza. Sounds disgusting? You'd be surprised.

Normally if you bake broccoli it comes out crispy and difficult to enjoy. It is so crunchy and hard that it loses most of its flavor. However, if you bake it on top of a pizza it will soak up the moisture from the cheese and the meat making it soft and delicious. When you pick up each individual piece it will be dripping with cheese and tomato sauce. It absolutely tastes wonderful. Easy peasy. Roughage.

Stop ordering french fries. Bake a potato instead.

You can bake a potato, or you can simply pop one in the microwave. As long as you're eating the skin you will be getting tons of great fiber. Anyone who says french fries and potatoes are the same thing is completely wrong. When you fry something, heating it up to an incredibly high temperature, you will kill the nutrients inside it. Therefore potatoes that are fried, full of food preservatives, and covered in salt.... just aren't in the same league as baked potatoes. Especially when they don't even have skins on them. The skin is the part that has most of the fiber and nutrients.

Baked potatoes are much cheaper too. A 5 lb bag of baked potatoes is $2.50 around here. A large order of french fries from McDonald's is $3.

Last but not least, I will leave you with the old standby.

You don't have to eat french fries or potato chips as your side item with lunch or dinner.

When I'm eating a hamburger sometimes I like to eat sugar snap peas with it. That might sound gross but it's actually pretty good. You can switch up what you eat. Just because somebody decided that potatoes were the only option when eating a hamburger that doesn't mean you can't throw some broccoli on the side.

Variety is the spice of life.

Eat vegetables as your side item, or put vegetables into whatever you're eating just to mix it up.

I know as I get older I need to eat more roughage. Therefore, I decided to come up with this easy list. I hope you will enjoy some of the tips that I laid out here.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I got a ton of lettuce on my taco salad last night. I wasn't up for roughage so I fed it to the ducks. ;) .I try to have a veggie or fruit with every meal since I had a kid. Even if we eat out I substitute sides for healthy options. Never had snap peas with a burger.Never thought to do it but it sounds interesting.

The solution I came up with was using a blender to make myself some smoothies. You can make some that taste quite delicious with things like kale and spinach.

That's a great solution. I used to make smoothies but it's been a long time.

I still make them somewhat regularly. When I had no particular regard for the micro nutrients I took in, that was no problem. I lived ketogenic for quite a while and that made things difficult. Using fruits of all sorts, you can basically make any smoothy be delicious. Without, it becomes a tad more challenging.

What I found was that going into a different direction worked out nicely for me. Cucumbers make for a great smoothie ingredient. Almost every smoothie you make with these becomes much lighter in consistent and taste while also giving you a cool watery sensation while drinking it. Especially enjoyable during summer times.

I always put something green in the blender when I make a smoothie. Usually it's spinach as we always have that on hand. :-)

Spinach is a great ingredient because it is healthy while not having a too strong flavor and adding a nice greenish color in. One of the best and easiest to use I'd say.

Kale is a bit harder to tailor a smoothie around, but it's possible.

I oftenly use it in my dinner only with yougurt. I don't eat without salad in dinner. This is ky habbit still last two year.

To tell you the truth I have a hard time eating salads with dinner. I would rather eat pizza or hamburgers. It's much easier for me to eat a salad with lunch.

We try to get extra spinach on our pizza as well. ;-)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Great.

Hello @jeezzle and everyone! I've created a new Steemit t-shirt and I think that it's better than my previous one! I hope that you'll enjoy my work as well. Order here:
https://teespring.com/welcome-to-steemit-t-shirt
front (7).jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17