Even if you're really careful you can still get hurt.

in #life6 years ago

I hurt myself just a little while ago.

I was making a large meatloaf but the pan was not big enough to hold all of the contents.

care3.jpg
Source: Pixabay.com

Essentially, I had two pounds of meat with lots of spices, one zucchini, a whole onion, and a few different peppers that had been chopped up and mixed together in a baking pan that is shaped like a meatloaf.

I noticed that the meat and vegetable mixture was really edging up outside the pan so I decided it would be a good idea to put a baking sheet underneath this pan in case there was any kind of leakage.

I set the oven to 350 and then waited about an hour to check to see the status of the meatloaf.

Sure enough, when I went to pull the meatloaf from the oven the baking pan had quite a bit of water or juice on it.

care1.jpg
Source: Pixabay.com

It's a good thing that I put that baking pan down.

Now I had a meatloaf in a very flimsy pan on top of a baking pan that is covered with a large layer of water.

How do I get it out of the oven?

I grabbed two oven cloths and began to pull the meatloaf out. It was really spilling juices everywhere. It probably weighed something like three and a half pounds.

Well that's not going to work very well. I thought.

I then decided to use the baking pan to pull the meatloaf out. I took the oven cloths, and I put each one on the opposite side of the baking pan and begin to pull it. Unfortunately my hand briefly touched at the side of the oven.

care2.jpg
Source: Pixabay.com

After pulling the meatloaf and the pan out together, I ran my hand under cool water for a couple of minutes before preparing my meal. My hand continued to hurt for some reason even though I had barely touched the side of the oven.

I got up and ran my hand under cool water for another few minutes, and continued with the rest of my day.

There is a rather large welt or blister on the side of my finger. It's kind of annoying because it hurts a lot more than I would have expected it to. I really didn't think I'd touched that oven for more than a brief second, but I guess it was enough to damage my skin.

I guess it just goes to show....

Even if you're really careful you can still get hurt.

Sort:  

Ugh. I've lost count of the number of times I've done something like this...

It was definitely a surprise.

Sorry to hear that, man.

I'm really clumsy, boiled a couple of eggs, and somehow carelessly put the back of my hand on the cooker hob. The problem with doing that is that it takes a little time for the pain to kick in, and then to react to the pain by removing your hand, so I ended up with a stinging red burn that lasted a week, with skin falling off it.

So it turns out you can get hurt if you're NOT really careful also. :(

It's so easy to burn yourself isn't it? I really hate getting burned.

Oh no friend, I hope you heal very fast.
Burning while cooking is very unpleasant and painful.
The worst thing is that then for whatever reason that finger is the one that hurts you with everything.

Thank you. It is unpleasant.

at least it wasn't something too serious

Yeah it's pretty minor I guess.

Sorry that happened to you. Hope it stops burning soon.

If you cook frequently, it is simply bound to happen sooner or later, so well I know.

Do you have any aloe?

Well I have some lotion. I guess I could put some on before I go to bed.

Sometimes it happens that for more care and forecasts we take accidents happen.

Oh man that's horrible. There was one time I burned my pingers cooking, and it was just like you wrote here. I thought I just touched it for less than a second, but my fingers kept hurting for an entire week. I hope you heal soon.

Hello @jeezzle, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23