I don't understand rap music anymore.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

I'll be honest, I never really was a big fan of rap music.

My favorite groups were really old school groups like The Fat Boys and Run DMC.

I still like listening to both of those groups. In fact, I definitely remember listening to the initial run on their cassettes and enjoying it greatly.

I was also a big fan of the Beastie Boys.


Giphy

I also remember enjoying bands like Sir Mix-A-Lot, MC Hammer, and a handful of others. However, I never really was into any of the serious style rap music.

Nowadays I look at the rap game and I'm just totally surprised by all of these people with pink hair and rainbow colored teeth and things like that.

I mean it's kind of interesting with life changes but I sort of didn't imagine the rap game going this way.

Not that it matters much to me. As I said earlier, I never really was a big fan of rap but I do think that things are really unusual lately.

The latest incident I'm hearing about is a young fellow named 21 Savage.

Now supposedly this is a rather well known rapper that has quite a following here in America. It was however recently revealed that he is actually from Britain and that his Visa has expired so they're trying to get him to go back.

I've never heard anything about this rapper.

If you look on YouTube though you'll find a really hilarious video in which someone dubs a British voice over his voice and makes him sound absolutely hilarious.

As I said, I don't know what this guy so I don't know what kind of music he normally produces except that it's rap music.


Giphy

Now I can remember running down the beach listening to C&C Music Factory and really enjoying that kind of music. Is it rap? I think it is. It's fun and light and has a great beat.

I have friends that really love rap music. They listen to it as though the words are incredibly powerful. I guess they could be, but I personally don't generally like the vibe that I get from those kind of lyrics.

Maybe it's because there isn't enough positivity in rap music. It seems like they're usually talking about how this is bad or how that is bad, the cops, etc.... It seems like maybe they're not taking responsibility.

For example, I have a roommate that constantly gets into trouble because he doesn't take responsibility for his own actions. Then he gets really mad about the fact that he got arrested for being in the middle of the street peeing while drinking 16 beers.

It's called responsibility man.

I'm also not saying that rap promotes irresponsibility because I don't know because I don't listen to it much.

I just think that the game is kind of weird lately. I don't know if it's going to change again soon, but I wouldn't be surprised. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if eventually rap changed into a more conservative venue just because that would be incredibly different.

I guess change is inevitable but I'll tell you one thing....

I don't understand rap music anymore.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 16 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 184 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hello @jeezzle, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75