I remember when I used to love weekends.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

I was working a job as a systems analyst.

Being a systems analyst is a pretty good gig. It means that you have to work long hours and do a lot of typing it. There are a lot of details to go over constantly. There's usually somebody looking over your shoulder all the time.

gaga.jpg
Pixabay

The job is really important. If you just screw something up....it's a big deal.

However, it also meant making quite a bit of money. It meant that I had weekends off. It meant that I had lots of paid time off as well, and quite a few vacation days.

I will say it was somewhat enjoyable to be a systems analyst, but I also hated the fact that my time wasn't my own. I probably worked something like 60 hours a week, and all of my time was spent thinking about work even when I was trying to relax at my apartment.

My girlfriend always used to tell me how much she hated that job. However, I know that she really enjoyed the money because we went out to eat all the time and I always threw money everywhere.

Why not? I was at work most of the time, so whenever we went out somewhere there was plenty of opportunity to spend the money.

Otherwise, life is all work and no play.

I had weekends off though. I could do whatever I wanted on the weekend. Weekends were a lot of fun. After working so much all throughout the week, I could come home and just say Hey great. It's the weekend.

Let's do something fun.

When you work in the restaurant industry, you tend not to love weekends very much. That's because weekends are very busy. Everyone has to work on the weekends.

However, there's also a good chance that the majority of your paycheck is going to come from those weekend days.

Weekends are not nearly as enjoyable as days during the week though. Working on a Thursday night might mean talking to some regulars and enjoying walking around and waiting on tables that are mostly businessman and families that love going out to dinner.

When I say families I'm really talking about couples.

On the weekend, when families go out to dinner you're looking at a single mother with her seven babies.

Maybe a mother, father, grandfather and 10 babies.

That sounds like quite an exaggeration and I admit that it probably is. However it absolutely amazes me how many babies come in the weekend. I have nothing against babies, but there is so much work when you have to get the high chairs out, then you have to sweep up the area, and you have to get all kinds of different special attention items for these tables.

Additionally, these people don't usually have much money to spend. The reason we make so much money on the weekends isn't because people tip more at all. No way. It's because there are just that many more people that come in.

When you swing a bat a bunch of times you're going to hit somebody. So I don't really enjoy weekends that much anymore. I do enjoy making money, but it isn't like the past.

Weekends used to just be time off but now weekends are the time when I make the majority of my money. It's something that I've gotten used to, but I also have to say....

I remember when I used to love weekends.

Sort:  

This is why we want cryptos to succeed, so that we can have time for ourselves and enjoy our weekends 😀.

Those kids aren't paying money!
FU toddlers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75