Is there anything more peaceful than the sound of a thunderstorm?

in #life6 years ago

A few raindrops were hitting the windshield of my car as I left the crowded parking lot.

I had errands to run so I stopped in Walmart, the grocery store, the dollar store, and the local market.

The concrete was wet as the pitter-patter of raindrops fell left and right.

A variety of people stood against the concrete wall waiting for cars to pull up.


Source: Pixabay.com

With a trunk full of groceries, I headed back to my suburban neighborhood.

It was about a 15 minute Drive. The radio played some relaxing folk music to keep me entertained.

A boom came loudly from overhead. Thunder. Was that a flash of lightning?

All the thought now was will I make it home before the drenching?

I stood in the kitchen making dinner after successfully navigating into my driveway.

The booming was louder now, and it was clear that the orchestra was about to begin.

I can smell the potatoes, onions, peppers, and hamburger meat cooking in the oven as I stare out my bedside window.

The thunderstorm has begun.

Fortunately for me there is nowhere else today that needs tending.

Monday is my off day, although I do work a short shift at the restaurant.

I will sit here and listen to the rain while I wait for my lunch to finish baking.

It's a very nice experience.

Is there anything more peaceful than the sound of a thunderstorm?

Sort:  

To me the truth does not relax me, but it entertains me a lot, seeing the rays marked and clearing the sky. Cold weather; Deinitivamente that it rains and being at home is an extraordinary sensation.

Thank you for your comment.

Wuao that inspires fear I'm terrified of lightning and thunder
Happy afternoon

To each their own I guess.

I consider rain like my most creative time: That smell, that sound, that... peace while Im thinking in a story or script, It's wonderful.

It's definitely a good time to write.

I grew up in Indiana and I loved the thunderstorms we had, especially when they broke the heat! I live on the Pacific coast now; we only hear thunder about once a summer. Your post brought back some memories; thanks.

This storm didn't last as long as I thought it would but it was great.

I teleported to that moment ^^ Really paceful! Have a great week!

Awesome.

Coincidentally i also do...up to the point that a few months back i had hard times sleeping..so i used to play 10 hour long thunderstorm soundtrack in a loop overnight and it was so soothing that my sleeping slowly was getting fixed.it was not like a therapy or something but i found peace.

That's a good idea.

Stay home with nothing more to do, than enjoy a delicious hamburger and entertain yourself in the community ... Great plan for a rainy day.

That's pretty close to the plan.

"Is there anything more peaceful than the sound of a thunderstorm?"

Dude, they actually used to sell the sound of thunderstorms on those relaxer tapes, which you would play to unwind and stuff!

I used to listen to relaxer tapes back in the day, but not any more. Heck, tapes don't even exist any more, and even cds are pretty much finished now.

I do remember that there was one tape that was considered MORE relaxing than the sound of distant thunderstorms: it was the sound of Ocean Waves.

Since the human body is 60 percent water, I'd guess that is why we love water so much lol.

I've seen some YouTube videos that have thunderstorms to relax you.

I still think those things are pretty cool.

The sound and smell of rain is the best... Happy Monday!

You too.

I donot scared by this.
Thanks for sharing sir @jeezzle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13