Nothing is worse than nothing.

in #life6 years ago

Saturdays are usually very busy days for me and my restaurant.

While I am always advocating saving for a rainy day, it is generally well known that if you should happen to run out of money all you need to do is work on a Saturday in order to refill your bank.

Today is very sunny and bright. It's downright hot too.

This might not be the best day to go out and get a nice hot grilled meal at your local restaurant. If I had the choice I would probably barbecue in the backyard with a case of cold beers by my side.


Source: Pixabay.com

That seems to have been the general consensus for most people as well because nobody came out to eat.

That means none of us made any money, which is pretty frustrating because we were all kind of really expecting it.

The worst part is probably the money, I'm not gonna lie.... but the second worst part is the waiting.

I know some people think something like "Wow I hope tomorrow is not going to be very busy! I hate working hard!" before they go into work. However, they're not really thinking about the fact that they're going to be incredibly bored.

When you've got nothing going on the day takes forever.

Sometimes it literally feels like time is moving backwards instead of forwards.

So today was a nothing day in a couple of ways.

How much money did most people earn? nothing.

What did everyone do today? nothing.

Sometimes when there's nothing to do we end up having to do a lot of busy work. So I cleaned some baseboards and stuffed some menus. I took the opportunity to learn about some of the new beers that we have in our cooler.

I talked to a few different managers that had issues going on.

I studied a variety of different things because I like to stay active.

I had multiple conversations with the people that did come in to eat although there were only a handful of them.

Ultimately though it was an incredibly boring day that didn't yield good results at all in any way.

I like having something to do.

Standing around doing nothing is really hard to bare sometimes.

I really was hoping that something would happen in time.

Nothing did though.

There a lot of things out there that I don't enjoy doing.

However, Nothing is worse than nothing.

Sort:  

This one reads like poetry.

-hello :)

Hello my friend.

I read this post, I feel it is a poetry.
From @metzli 's comment I realised it is a poem.

However I just upvoted you..😊

Thank you.

You are always welcome.

I share in your plight. Sometimes the idleness is actually mentally stressful on its own. But your day wasn't entirely fruitless, atleast you crowned it up with steemit. Make the best out of your days dear and be happy. No happening is in charge of that, you are.

It's definitely frustrating sometimes.

That's the thing people seem to forget when they wish for a less busy day. What comes with that package is boredom without limits.

Nice article

Thanks.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks.

They say that depression is a disease of Western world because we have too much time available.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69