Now Apocalypse. Not for me.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

About 4 months ago I signed up for a 6 month subscription to Starz.

It seems like there are a lot of movies on there.

I guess there are, but things tend to get stale after a while.

4 months in and I already don't have much to watch.

nowap.jpg
Imdb

I was excited to hear about a new show that is on the horizon called Now Apocalypse.

It looks like a zany, funny comedy about a group of college kids that are up to all sorts of no good.

There appear to be some very attractive women involved too. It looks like good mindless fun.

Tagline

While on quests to pursue love, sex and fame with his friends in LA, Ulysses' premonitory dreams make him question the possible presence of a dark and monstrous conspiracy.

Ep 1 tagline

Ulysses Zane is struggling in the dating scene in LA. His best friend, Carly, is striving to become an actress. Uly's roommate, Ford, is an aspiring screenwriter dating Severine, an astrobiological theorist.

I'm a pretty down-to-earth guy. I like reading and writing horror. I love science fiction. I love old movies and old music too.

I really enjoy zany comedies like The Hangover.

I'm straight but I have several gay friends.

What does that last line have to do with anything?

Well, Now Apocalypse starts with a couple of gay guys having graphic sex on a bed. One of them then gets off, goes outside, pulls off his condom and throws it away, and then rides off on a bicycle.

It then moves on to a scene of a woman bouncing up and down on a different guy, showing her breasts while the first guy fantasizes about having sex with him.

Apparently the two guys messed around in college but it didn't work out because one of them was completely straight. Like a zero on the Kinsey scale.

Shortly after this our first guy goes to meet another guy, and they give each other hand jobs in an alley.

Then we go to a girl having a cam show and showing her breasts once again.

We then move on to a scene at the end which involves more gay sex.

Wow.

That's a lot of gay sex.

I have nothing against homosexuals. I work with several, and I'm friends with several as well.

I believe everyone should have the rights and the freedom to be whoever they want to be.

The thing is.... nowhere in the show does it mention that there's going to be any graphic gay sex at all.

So I was kind of taken aback.

Also I really thought by viewing the trailers there would be some kind of apocalyptic thing happening but there does not appear to be.

Additionally, I was really hoping there would be some kind of tie in with Apocalypse Now, which is one of my favorite movies, but this is about the farthest thing from it that I can possibly imagine.

In the IMDb reviews there is a guy that says if you don't like the show, that shows there is something wrong with you ....not with the show.

Really?

It's incredibly boring and vapid. The trailer shows something really interesting, but what you actually get is graphic gay sex that is like watching gay paint dry on a wall.

This show is just lame. I don't get it. I really don't. They could easily have advertised this in such a way as to show what kind of content was inside.

I am not adverse to not content either..... it's just not my style.

I am all for every kind of person out there. Freedom is what I believe in.

I guess I just don't understand the advertising for the show.

Now Apocalypse. Not for me.

Sort:  

I really missed the days i always watch movies a lot but now steemit has preoccupied my time a lot

Congratulations @jeezzle! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76