People are strange.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

The world is a really interesting place full of all kinds of different people. On the way home today I encountered three different types of people in three different situations. I thought it was pretty interesting.

I thought I would write about it here.


Giphy

Usually when I leave work the first thing I'm thinking about is lunch. However, I might also have some random items that I need to pick up from various grocery stores.

Sometimes I stop at the local market, and sometimes I stop at the Dollar Store.

After picking up various vegetables, fruits, and meat items for later use this week at my local market I stopped in the dollar store to grab some soap, toilet paper, and other sundry items.

A young Hispanic couple was walking in the door and they seemed to have about five babies between them. I opened the door for them but then I tried to stay out of their way because to be honest things weren't smelling so good.

After doing my shopping I came to the counter and found the young Hispanic man in line at the register.

It was a very long line. The young Hispanic woman came into the line as well and found herself a couple of spaces behind me.

The couple then began to pass items back-and-forth despite the fact that there were several people between them. They also passed babies back and forth while each of them checked the babies out. It was a pretty uncomfortable experience.

Nobody really enjoyed what they were up to, and I personally found it really unusual that they would do that. Maybe they intended to be in line together but they were really kind of affecting the line and making things really awkward.


Giphy

After leaving the dollar store and entering into the parking lot I encountered a young man that I had seen quite often before.

A Young Stoner looking fellow with long blond hair that was extremely dirty. He asked me for a dollar but I did not have any spare change. He then went around asking every other person that he could encounter in the parking lot.

There didn't seem to be anything wrong with the man. In fact, every time I see him I often wonder why he doesn't get a job. That might sound like a bad thing to say, but I've seen this guy beg for change for years now. It doesn't seem as though his situation is ever going to change.

If you're in a bad situation then you've got to be the one to change it. If it takes years, then that's how long it's going to take. However, if you're just expecting handouts from everyone then things will never change. Now I really don't know his situation.... and I would have given him a dollar or some change if I had any on me.


Giphy

The last situation occurred at Whataburger. I love Whataburger. I have always thought that they had the best hamburgers in town.

As I entered Whataburger an older gentleman was digging through the trash can. He had both baskets out, and was looking all through them. It looked as if he might have lost some money or something in one of them.

As I walked up to the front counter to order my burger this man walked up behind me and said softly....

Well, nothing good in there.

He then ordered a meal and sat down to eat it while I waited for my burger. He wasn't looking for anything in particular. Just something good in the garbage.

I know a lot of freegans that do that in the dumpster.

I don't really have an opinion about it honestly.

However, I think it's pretty strange to do it during the middle of lunch at an actual restaurant. There couldn't possibly be anything good in a restaurant trash can. Just people's freshly eaten food garbage. Who would want that?

I'm thinking he might have been hoping somebody had thrown out some actual money. That would be extremely rare in today's economy though.

Those are the three unusual situations I encountered on my way home today.

I hope you enjoyed reading this.

Sort:  

You have some very interesting stories about standing in lines at the store. Hahaha the visuals of this are kind of hilarious. Maybe it's just the way you're telling it? I also enjoy how you seem to be trying to understand these behaviors. That's just my impression but it cracks me up. So they were passing their children back and forth to each other in the line up and there are other customers between them???!?!?! Hahaha I literally laughed out loud when I read that. priceless. I must meet these people and study them in their environment.

I'm kind of hoping to stay in their environment and don't enter mine.

Haha yeah I bet

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34