Red Team Versus Blue Team.

in #life6 years ago

While at my local dollar store today I noticed something incredibly unusual. The lady in front of me had a multitude of blue items. Blue marbles, blue action figures, blue plates.

It was all blue.

When I looked around to see if anyone else noticed, I couldn't help but see that they guy behind me had am equal multitude of red items. Red pool supplies, red twirly things, red toys of all shapes and sizes.

It was a particularly strange sight to see.


Source: Pixabay.com

The lady that works behind the counter at this particular dollar store is usually fairly lackadaisical. She seems to be dazing off into space all the time and barely has the energy to bag or ring in a single item. However, today she was very inquisitive of both the lady in front of me and of the gentleman behind me.

I was glad because it meant that I personally didn't have to ask any questions. Sometimes when you ask questions you find yourself in a conversation that you cannot get out of.

Apparently there is a neighborhood competition where these folks live. Each of the houses in the neighborhood has given itself a color. You can either choose the color blue or the color red.

The houses then compete with each other in a variety of ways.

Apparently all of the blue houses in the neighborhood were toilet papered with red colored toilet paper and various confetti last night. Everybody thought it was a lot of fun though.

So now the red team is in line to get toilet papered with blue toilet paper soon. Maybe their houses will be sprayed with blue spray paint or something like that.

Perhaps their cars will be struck with blue eggs. It's all very strange because it reminds me of some juvenile stuff you might have done in high school. You know, the kind of stuff that your parents would have yelled at you for.

Anyway.... it's pretty cool though. Maybe this stuff keeps you from getting too prude in your old age. Everybody should have fun. Would I put my house up on the line and risk getting some kind of red or blue spray paint all over it for the sake of a game? Well I guess I'd have to be pretty rich if I did that. I must say these people did look very rich though.

It was one of the most interesting things that happened today and I thought it was a great story to write about.

Red Team Versus Blue Team.

Go Blue!

Sort:  

I am a grand questioner, even in public. As you say, it can get you into some ruts in the time department. But you DO learn some interesting things. Like red and blue competitions. Enjoyed your story muchly.

Thank you. I'm keeping it informal today. Sometimes those stories are the best kind.

I've been trying the free write lately, to help succinct-up some of my writing. They tend to get a bit long now and then. Though I usually like to write what comes naturally, and still will. I suppose both have definite advantage. But folks on here do not have as much time to read, as a totally consumption-only site would be. The joys of Steemit.

That's a great writing blog

I appreciate your creativity..Thanks for sharing this story.

Carry on your life ... I follow you @jeezzle

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84