Treating strangers like friends.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

Have you ever met someone that treated a stranger as if it was his friend?

I mean to say that everyone that he interacted with was given the same familiarity as a family member or close buddy.

hn2.jpg
Pixabay

It takes time to get to know someone. It's a really strange thing to ignore the getting to know someone process and simply assume everyone is your good friend.

At least, for the majority of the populace it is. I once did know a guy that treated absolutely everyone as if they were old cronies.

The first day that I met him I was headed towards a party. This was a man that I was training at my job.

He mentioned that he wanted to come to the party that we were having after work. He didn't know anyone there, but I figured what the heck.

We all had a few drinks, played a few party games, and before long this man was interacting with people in a way that was highly inappropriate.

I'm talking about patting people he didn't know on the belly. Rubbing people's heads that he had never met. Stuff like that.

It was a really weird situation just being around this guy. He worked at our restaurant for a couple of years, and he talked to customers as if they were people that had been talking to his entire life.

To tell you the truth, you either loved this guy or you hated him....and a lot of people hated him.

This had nothing to do with whether or not he was a good guy. Actually once you got to know him, he was a pretty good guy.

The problem is that he never had a getting-to-know-you phase at all. He just skipped that part.

It was weird.


Giphy

I never actually had a problem with the guy. I never really spent much time hanging out with him after that first night though.

He did frequent the bars that me and my friends went to on occasion though. I would see him there, usually talking with a complete stranger as though that person or his best friend.

At first I thought he had a lot of friends at the bars that we went to, but it turns out that he was just being his normal unusual self that talks to people as though he knows them well even though he doesn't.

Well, to each their own I guess. However, I do think this person is one of the oddest people that I've ever met.

Eventually this man went to work for a used car lot and started making lots of money. His personality was exactly tailored for selling used cars.

He makes a lot of money now.

It's kind of funny, but I think the lesson we should learn is that if you have an unusual personality you should cultivate it and not try to fit in with the norm.

It's a really unusual thing.

Treating strangers like friends.

Sort:  

A very particular person, I imagine it is hard to forget.
I have never met a person like that, what I do believe is that anyone would think I was a little crazy.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70