Truth shouldn't be in the eye of the beholder.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

Ah. The eye of the beholder.

It's an interesting thing isn't it? They say beauty is in the eye of the beholder. What it really means is that beauty is subjective.

One man's definition of beauty is not the same as another man's.

That's a good thing. It means that we are able to procreate and populate our planet, because not everyone is stuck on the exact same type of mate.

They say there's somebody for everybody.

That's the interesting thing about beauty.

beholder.jpg
eberron.wikia.com

Not everything is subjective though.

There may come a time in the very distant future when all of us are gone. It's possible that the only remains will be records of who we were.

What we were.

What if those records said that we were a race of 10 ft tall Giants that were all extraordinary beautiful and great athletes?

It would be nice right? It wouldn't be true though.

I think it's been almost a month since I first heard this story about a friend of mine. His roommate beat him up badly because he was simply being loud.

Being drunk, loud, and obnoxious.... and he wound up with a broken rib, and a very beat up face.

Every time I see him at work I can't help but feel bad about this guy taking such a massive beat down from someone that is supposed to be his friend.

Is that what we do to our friends? Do we get mad at them and then lay hands on them? I don't think so.

It doesn't matter how obnoxious your friend is being, you don't beat him up.


Giphy

A lot of time has past now, but the bruises still remain. My friend looks terrible even now.

However, with the passing of time comes new information.

It seems as though we may not have been getting the full story from my friend. I'm not even sure why we simply trusted him 100%, but I think it had a lot to do with the fact that he looked like such a sad case.

The real story seems to be that this friend of mine was actually being very violent, and had continuously been violent and out of control for a long time.

I do know that the guy has a real problem with alcohol and with other various substances. I had seen him attempting to control this problem, but I guess he finally went off the wagon.

Does he believe his own story about being the victim?

He definitely looks the part.

In many ways he actually is a victim. However, he isn't the only victim in this scenario.

It sounds to me like he was actually the instigator.

It's difficult thing timing navigate our way through different truths. Everyone has their own version.

Truth is not subjective though. A complicated set of events was set into place by my friend who now has to deal with the consequences.

It can definitely be a stressful life, but I know one thing for sure.

Truth shouldn't be in the eye of the beholder.

Sort:  

We agree that truth isn't subjective, but for the sake of a thought experiment, what do you think of the phrase "Truth is beauty and beauty truth"?

I have lots of thoughts on the nature of truth and beauty. I think "beauty is in the eye of the beholder" and "truth is beauty" have lots to do with creative works.

I also think, though truth isn't subjective, perceptions of truth are by definition subjective. There was an insightful article in Bitch magazine about the nature of the reasonableness standard for self-defense defenses in homicides. It compared two real cases. In one a woman who had been abused and violently threatened by her partner for years was convicted even though there was plenty of evidence of her assailant's violence because the jury was convinced by the prosecution that a reasonable person would just have left. The jury perceived that the man was murdered, and the defense argued that the woman was defending herself, and they both used the same facts. One truth or two?

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it's a complicated issue. I think Beauty can be Truth at times, and truth beauty at others but I can't really apply that to any specific case.

That's true

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

IT's easy to believe the wrong thing when your friends tell you something, but leave crucial parts out . I have a friend that it has happened with me twice like that. Now I consider what she tells me cautiously and never voice any opinion on them, since I may not have all the pertinent details. That's really too bad. Fortunately, I'm not around her very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98