What should our posting style really be like?

in #life6 years ago

For the past two years that I've been on this site I've been posting really long articles, because I felt like I was the way things should be.... but now I'm really reconsidering that.


Source: Pixabay.com

After all, what do we really want this site to be like?

What is going to make this site worth a lot of money? What is going to make our coin rise up and be worth $2, $5, or $10?

I think the answer is bite-sized information.

Fun stuff that you can do on your phone. Stuff that you can check the way that people check Facebook.

The people that are going to read really long articles are the type of people that are going to subscribe to Kindle unlimited. They aren't the kind of people you see everyday walking around the mall.

We need those people.

We have a lot of dapps that are perfect for them, but I think we also need to change our posting style a little bit.

So for a little while I'm going to post short-form stories. Blogs that are digestible in a couple of paragraphs. I think ultimately that is the way that this site will be headed.

I'm not talking about shitposting though.

Quality short form articles.

That's what I will be doing.

What about you?

Sort:  

I totally agree with your assessment. I started using Steepshot to post short (2-3 paragraph) articles with 2-to-3 pictures and these get much more engagement than my long form posts do these days. I still write a longer form post once per week or so just to keep the "saw sharpened" but 30 second reads or less are the future.

I think there's a big future in having a site that is handy and fun. I think that's the way we are headed.

I agree totally. Attention spans won’t get bigger.

When I get to a lost post.... i look at how small the bar is on the side of the window... to see if i reeeeeeally want to drag that bar all the way down to read LOL

i love a post long enough to give you a glimpse into the person's world. should be entertaining in my opinion!

and i don't really come to steemit to be educated on things.... i love to laugh - to connect - to be inspired - to share.

and that can be done pretty quickly!
and it also makes it likely that i'll read the whole thing - absorb it, and then leave a comment that hopefully encourages the person to get to know me too!

I once made a post that was something like 10 pages long?

https://steemit.com/fiction/@jeezzle/the-third-floor-complete

There she goes.

I did make $44 on that post without the use of bid bots. However, @glitterfart upvoted it when she used to be around. She was a big whale that did a lot of up voting. I'm sure everyone misses the votess from her.

hehehehehe that's not too bad of a size (leaving it open to peruse later hehehe)

I did the same thing with my Fireflies story - chapter 1 was longer. and people told me break them up into 2 or 3 chpters for what i was posting

so i did - and everyone stuck around and really enjoyed it

$44 without bidbots nice! i only got those payouts with Curies. never without.

I totally support your opinion, nothing is worth a super long article if people are not going to read it, I prefer something precise but that contains quality.
You do not need many words when you want to say the good.

You're right. Our target should be anything that appeals to the mainstream. Luckily there are a lot of apps ready to do that

Apps are one area we really are doing well.

I've been saying this since the beginning.

We can mix it up, but short form, easy to read, content is how to gain users.

I'm only just now beginning to understand it. I'm not a phone guy you see.

However, if it doesn't work easily and quickly on your phone, then people aren't going to want it.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Agree to short stories with quality...but it is not always easy to keep it short😉

People keep attenttion at short articles, I think you Are right.

Since I would like to follow many fun people, I suppose it would be better if most posts weren't way to long, but still fun, interesting and complete. I would like to follow many though, so it would help me keep up with keeping up if they weren't too long.

On the other hand, I don't mind at all reading a longer post if it is written well and in a way that holds my interest.

P.S.... .I don't have a kindle. I still kind of like holding books !

I think, everyone has different tastes, and people will follow bloggers who cater to those tastes.

Since most of us have very limited spare time, I think your short format, high value content, idea is likely to appeal to the most people.

But other people will have different tastes, and will find what they want, or at least chance upon it.

I always think how strange it is that my feed could have a hundred totally different people in it, and I'd be having a totally different experience right now. I really don't know how the accounts that I followed fell into my feed! Some from trending, some from new articles, some from following comments on blogs, some from resteems.

Myself, I like longer articles, but I often just don't have the time. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86