You're more likely to regret the things that you didn't do than those that you did.

in #life6 years ago

There's an old saying. Try try again. There's not much to the saying.... it just means if you fail then you should try again. What happens if you don't try again though?

What happens if you didn't try in the first place?


Source: Pixabay.com

Regret.

Now certainly there have been instances when you thought to yourself that you really regret something that you said or did.

We've all done some shameful things that we feel bad about. Many of us have done them under the influence of alcohol. That doesn't excuse them.

Regret.

However, the worst kind of regret is the kind that involves not doing something that you wanted to do for one reason or another.

Were you thinking about going to that ball game but then you decided that there was too much traffic? I'll bet it would have been a fun time.

Did you think about asking that beautiful girl out at work? She was out of your league so you didn't even give it a shot.

Maybe she likes guys exactly like you. Maybe she's been pining away for you.

Regret.

I can't count how many times I've done something that I regret. It's a part of life.

I can definitely tell you though that there are at least 10 times more things that I haven't done that I regret.

I didn't think that I could get that really high-paying job even though I had already been accepted into the interview process. My life would be a lot different now if I had been able to achieve that goal.

There are so many things that I wanted to try in life that I never got the opportunity to do. Now, I say I never got the opportunity but what I really mean by that is that I never created the opportunity.

Regret.

The next time you're thinking about buying yourself that expensive item but you think you might not be able to afford it think about what you might feel like to not have it.

The next time you thinking about applying for that job but you think maybe you're not quite qualified enough think about what it might be like to not work there.

Regret.

You don't want to live your life in a world where you don't get the things you want.

That is a world full of regret.

So my advice to anyone reading this would be to buy some Steem Power. If you don't you very well may regret it.

You're more likely to regret the things that you didn't do than those that you did.

Sort:  

what's done is done and what's not done too, but, it's wonderful to risk hahah nice post

Thank you.

nice comment

Yeah i also agree with you.
If you donot do a work you would not give up.
Keep it up and see you will success.
Thanks for sharing sir @jeezzle.

Thanks.

Of course, it depends what you're trying to do lol.

In the James Bond movie, "Diamonds are Forever," there are two contract killers called Mr Wint and Mr Kidd.

Whenever they fail to finish someone off, Mr Wint loves to say to Mr Kidd: "If at first you don't succeed, Mr Kidd. . ."

To which Mr Kidd always replies: "Try try again, Mr Wint."

That's actually one of the few Bond movies that I haven't seen.

There was a time when I was going through all of the James Bond movies from the beginning but I stopped on "On Her Majesty's Secret Service." I just couldn't get into that one and it sort of stopped the watching spree. I need to get back into it though and I think I will start with Diamonds are Forever especially since it was the next one in the sequence.

It's Sean Connery's last official Bond film, and Connery was always worth a watch.

It's also Bond nemesis, Ernst Stavro Blofeld's last official appearance until his sudden reemergence in the current Daniel Craig movies. In this movie, Charles Gray, a distinguished British actor who was the narrator in "The Rocky Horror Show," as well as a diabolical villain in the sixties movie "The Devil Rides Out," played the role. I love Gray, and he does more stroking of his white cat than any other Blofeld in any other movie.

It's a very camp movie, very silly, and all the more fun for it. Don't expect genuinely gritty thrills. And another great thing about it, is that it has the best Bond voice singing the theme song: Shirley Bassey.

I was lucky enough to hear her perform the "Diamonds are Forever" theme song live at the Royal Albert Hall, and even now, she is wonderful! :)

Sounds fantastic. There are only a few Bond movies that I haven't seen.... this one, Moonraker, Octopussy, Living Daylights, Skyfall. Actually I may have seen Living Daylights once upon a time.

I'm really enjoying your replies and I hope soon you'll actually put up one of your Rodney reviews.

Wow. Yet another great topic well put.

My example would be getting stuck in a job. Which I now regret whole-heartedly. See, who would think having a steady job for 30 years could be a regret? Was so pround of my seniority and advancement. Now that I am not working there I see how many constraints it put on me and how unnecessarily it consumed my time. All regrettable. Should have got the hell out years before. I had it exactly backwards...'the job' was the reason why my kids had a babysitter for years, why I was tired, why my self esteem and motivation were dwindling, why I felt like a robot, and more. Screw that.

I have recently interviewed for a job I want! My husband thinks it is too physical and too far to drive. Oh well. If I want to do it, no regrets. A job where I can be active, casual, meet people and has variety. Sounds ok for a job. Part time, too.

Don't make impulsive leaps but try not to let yourself ignore opportunities either. What you have achieved till now is only the beginning. Make opportunities, take opportunities to build and keep growing.

Kind of have to walk a tight line.

I worked the same job for over 10 years. It took me a long time to get the qualifications to apply for the job and I was very happy to be accepted. It was a lot of work. Maybe 50 to 75 hours a week. I sat in a little cubicle but I had a fair amount of power. I got paid a significant amount of money. Life was really working out the way I wanted it to.... or at least I thought that it was..

Eventually I got laid off and so did something like 80% of the company.. I don't make nearly as much money now but I think I'm living a much better life. Money doesn't buy everything, and when you spend your entire time chasing it then you realize that you haven't spent any time enjoying yourself. That's a terrible thing.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Great.

Nice . Thanks for share this . Resteemed it . Thanks

doing the right thing at the right time is the best thing that could ever happen in a mans life. thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17