Remember The Golden Rule/Ingat Aturan Emas/Recuerde la regla de oro

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Recently I started to remember lessons my mother tried to teach me as a child when I was growing up. She would often tell me to remember "The Golden Rule". I would always look up at her in wonderment as to what she meant by that. She would explain it to me over and over again. My mother was a person who was raised very poor. She was often looked down on because of her clothing she wore to school. My grandfather was a coalminer and back in the late 1950's when my mother was born, the coalmining industry was thriving in the Eastern part of Kentucky.

However, with four children, my grandmother was a stay-at-home mother while my grandfather worked and his income was barely enough to support the six of them. They would often go hungry. My mother always remembered this throughout her childhood and into her adulthood. For anyone who has seen the movie 'Coal Miner's Daughter', that is what life around that time was like for my mother minus the running off to get married at a young age to become a very famous country music singer.

She worked hard throughout her adulthood at menial jobs to support me as a single mother to make sure I never went without, even if it meant she did without. She did not want me to go through the things she went through as a child with other children "bullying" me as they did her and her younger sister.

So when my young ears would listen to her stories about her hard times growing up and her reminding me of this golden rule, I wanted to see something tangible. I wanted to see it written somewhere. I wanted to see that it was an actual rule, like a law. So she wrote on a paper one day, this golden rule. It was "to be kind to others and to treat them as they do you. If you have nothing nice to say, then say nothing at all". This was framed and hanged in my bedroom throughout my teenage years. And when other children at school would laugh at me, and call me names because of my height (I was so much taller than everyone else, by the age of 13, I was already 5 feet 7 inches tall), I would come home and see this on my bedroom wall.

I remember this today, at age 40. I am reminded how cruel the world can be. I am reminded that how some people at age 12 can be more mature than those in their 20's. When you wrong someone, hurt their feelings, it is your responsibility to take control of that situation and not that of someone else. There are a few sayings here in America that are funny and sarcastic that I will share, but will get the point across. "Man up and apologize", "Put on your big girl hat and be the bigger person", etc. I hope you get the picture. Having someone else apologize for your actions means nothing to the person that is hurt by something you have done, but it means much more coming from the person who was the one who hurt that person.

There are many people in this world who care only about themselves. I am starting to learn who true friends really are and those who really care about me. Those who really care go out of their way to ask me how I am and ask me how my new job is going. They don't ask me for favors or assume I will do them favors because I have in the past. And while I do not mind helping out my true friends, it's the true friends who are the ones who ask how I am doing and actually take interest in how I am and me in asking how they are doing.

So, ask yourself this: Are you a taker? Are you a true friend who actually cares for others or are you out there for other purposes only to benefit yourself? Are your true colors starting to show?

Much love,
@jennifer78

goldenrule.jpg

Dalam bahasa indonesia

Baru-baru ini saya mulai mengingat pelajaran yang coba diajarkan ibu saya ketika kecil ketika saya tumbuh dewasa. Dia sering mengatakan kepada saya untuk mengingat "Peraturan Emas". Saya akan selalu memandangnya dengan takjub tentang apa yang dimaksudkannya dengan itu. Dia akan menjelaskannya kepada saya lagi dan lagi. Ibu saya adalah orang yang dibesarkan sangat miskin. Dia sering dipandang rendah karena pakaiannya yang dipakainya ke sekolah. Kakek saya adalah seorang penambang batu bara dan kembali di akhir 1950-an ketika ibu saya lahir, industri pertambangan batu bara berkembang pesat di bagian Timur Kentucky.

Namun, dengan empat anak, nenek saya adalah ibu rumah tangga sementara kakek saya bekerja dan penghasilannya hampir tidak cukup untuk mendukung mereka berenam. Mereka sering kelaparan. Ibuku selalu mengingat ini sepanjang masa kecilnya dan memasuki masa dewasanya. Bagi siapa saja yang telah melihat film 'Coal Miner's Daughter', itulah kehidupan di sekitar waktu itu seperti untuk ibu saya minus lari untuk menikah di usia muda untuk menjadi penyanyi musik country yang sangat terkenal.

Dia bekerja keras selama masa dewasanya di pekerjaan kasar untuk mendukung saya sebagai ibu tunggal untuk memastikan saya tidak pernah pergi, bahkan jika itu berarti dia tidak. Dia tidak ingin saya mengalami hal-hal yang dia alami saat masih kecil dengan anak-anak lain "menindas" saya seperti mereka dan adik perempuannya.

Jadi ketika telinga saya yang masih muda mendengarkan kisah-kisahnya tentang masa-masa sulitnya tumbuh dan dia mengingatkan saya tentang aturan emas ini, saya ingin melihat sesuatu yang nyata. Saya ingin melihatnya ditulis di suatu tempat. Saya ingin melihat bahwa itu adalah aturan yang sebenarnya, seperti hukum. Jadi dia menulis di atas kertas suatu hari, aturan emas ini. Itu adalah "bersikap baik kepada orang lain dan memperlakukan mereka seperti mereka. Jika Anda tidak memiliki hal yang baik untuk dikatakan, maka jangan katakan apa pun". Ini dibingkai dan digantung di kamar tidur saya selama masa remaja saya. Dan ketika anak-anak lain di sekolah akan menertawakan saya, dan memanggil saya nama karena tinggi badan saya (saya jauh lebih tinggi daripada orang lain, pada usia 13 tahun, saya sudah 5 kaki 7 inci), saya akan pulang dan lihat ini di dinding kamar saya.

Saya ingat hari ini, pada usia 40 tahun. Saya teringat betapa kejamnya dunia. Saya diingatkan bahwa bagaimana beberapa orang di usia 12 tahun bisa lebih dewasa daripada mereka yang berusia 20-an. Ketika Anda salah seseorang, melukai perasaan mereka, itu adalah tanggung jawab Anda untuk mengendalikan situasi itu dan bukan orang lain. Ada beberapa ucapan di sini di Amerika yang lucu dan sarkastik yang akan saya bagikan, tetapi akan menjelaskan maksudnya. "Bersikaplah dan minta maaf", "Kenakan topi gadis besar Anda dan jadilah orang yang lebih besar", dll. Saya harap Anda mendapatkan gambar itu. Memiliki orang lain meminta maaf atas tindakan Anda tidak berarti apa-apa bagi orang yang terluka membeli sesuatu yang telah Anda lakukan, tetapi itu berarti lebih banyak berasal dari orang yang adalah orang yang menyakiti orang itu.

Ada banyak orang di dunia ini yang hanya peduli pada diri mereka sendiri. Saya mulai belajar siapa sebenarnya teman sejati dan mereka yang benar-benar peduli pada saya. Mereka yang benar-benar peduli pergi keluar dari jalan mereka untuk bertanya kepada saya bagaimana saya dan bertanya kepada saya bagaimana pekerjaan baru saya akan berjalan. Mereka tidak meminta bantuan saya atau menganggap saya akan melakukannya karena saya pernah melakukannya di masa lalu. Dan sementara saya tidak keberatan membantu teman-teman saya yang sebenarnya, itu adalah teman sejati yang adalah orang-orang yang bertanya bagaimana saya melakukannya dan benar-benar tertarik pada bagaimana saya dan saya bertanya bagaimana mereka melakukannya.

Jadi, tanyakan pada diri Anda ini: Apakah Anda seorang pengambil? Apakah Anda seorang teman sejati yang benar-benar peduli pada orang lain atau Anda di luar sana untuk tujuan lain hanya untuk menguntungkan diri sendiri? Apakah warna Anda yang sebenarnya mulai muncul?

En español
Recientemente comencé a recordar las lecciones que mi madre trató de enseñarme cuando era niña. A menudo me decía que recordara "La Regla de Oro". Siempre la miraba preguntándome qué quería decir con eso. Ella me lo explicaba una y otra vez. Mi madre era una persona muy pobre. A menudo se la despreciaba por la ropa que usaba para ir a la escuela. Mi abuelo era minero y a finales de la década de 1950 cuando nació mi madre, la industria minera del carbón estaba prosperando en la parte este de Kentucky.

Sin embargo, con cuatro hijos, mi abuela era una madre que se quedaba en casa, mientras que mi abuelo trabajaba y sus ingresos apenas eran suficientes para mantener a los seis. A menudo pasaban hambre. Mi madre siempre recordó esto a lo largo de su infancia y en su edad adulta. Para cualquiera que haya visto la película'La Hija del Minero del Carbón', así era la vida en aquella época para mi madre menos la huida para casarse a una edad temprana y convertirse en una cantante de música country muy famosa.

Trabajó duro a lo largo de su adultez en trabajos serviles para mantenerme como madre soltera y asegurarse de que nunca me quedara sin nada, aunque eso significara que ella se quedara sin nada. Ella no quería que yo pasara por las cosas que ella pasó cuando era niña con otros niños que me "intimidaban" como ellos a ella y a su hermana menor.

Así que cuando mis jóvenes oídos escuchaban sus historias sobre los momentos difíciles de su infancia y el hecho de que me recordara esta regla de oro, quería ver algo tangible. Quería verlo escrito en alguna parte. Quería ver que era una regla real, como una ley. Así que un día escribió en un papel, esta regla de oro. Era "ser amable con los demás y tratarlos como ellos te tratan a ti. Si no tienes nada bueno que decir, entonces no digas nada en absoluto". Esto fue enmarcado y colgado en mi dormitorio durante mi adolescencia. Y cuando otros niños en la escuela se reían de mí, y me ponían sobrenombres debido a mi estatura (yo era mucho más alto que todos los demás, a la edad de 13 años, yo ya medía 5 pies y 7 pulgadas), volvía a casa y veía esto en la pared de mi habitación.

Recuerdo esto hoy, a los 40 años. Me recuerda lo cruel que puede ser el mundo. Me recuerdan que algunas personas a los 12 años pueden ser más maduras que las que tienen 20 años. Cuando le haces daño a alguien, hieres sus sentimientos, es tu responsabilidad tomar el control de esa situación y no la de otra persona. Hay algunos refranes aquí en Estados Unidos que son divertidos y sarcásticos que voy a compartir, pero que harán que se entienda. "Sé un hombre y discúlpate", "Ponte tu sombrero de niña grande y sé la persona más grande", etc. Espero que lo entiendas. Tener a alguien más que se disculpe por sus acciones no significa nada para la persona que está herida comprar algo que usted ha hecho, pero significa mucho más viniendo de la persona que fue la que lastimó a esa persona.

Hay mucha gente en este mundo que sólo se preocupa por sí misma. Estoy empezando a aprender quiénes son los verdaderos amigos y quiénes son los que realmente se preocupan por mí. Los que realmente se preocupan por mí se esfuerzan por preguntarme cómo estoy y cómo me va en mi nuevo trabajo. No me piden favores ni asumen que les haré favores porque lo hice en el pasado. Y aunque no me importa ayudar a mis verdaderos amigos, son los verdaderos amigos los que preguntan cómo estoy y realmente se interesan en cómo estoy y yo en cómo les va a ellos.

Así que, pregúntate esto: ¿Eres un tomador? ¿Eres un verdadero amigo que realmente se preocupa por los demás o estás ahí fuera con otros propósitos sólo para beneficiarte a ti mismo? ¿Están empezando a notarse tus verdaderos colores?

Much love,
@jennifer78

Join me and many others on #steemschools to earn as you learn for free business classes every day at 7pm UTC +2 on discord https://discord.gg/TaZFW5r

DQmUespkYTcA8pRPaJuR1deHVi91Mv3MFjr1Ukbvwwdwmg9.gif

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39