Deconstructing My Studio to Move!

in #life6 years ago

E246EADD-990A-458C-BA41-D88C3E9E2BDA.jpeg

For the last two months we have been moving to our new home. I put off taking my home office video production studio apart until the very end because after moving it several times already I had an idea of how long it would take.

studio before.jpeg

Do you see how many cords and pieces of equipment there are? I am remembering the line from Fight Club about "The things you own, own you" which felt accurate in the case of my home studio. After over a year of renting the house and trying to figure out how to best manage the battery backups which are essential in a house with frequent brown outs that are just enough to flip all the electronics off, I finally got the battery backups all in the attic just a few months before we realized we were ready to move. That was the first thing I took apart which took at least thirty minutes by itself of going up the attic, taking the cables out, and patching up the walls.

studio ladder old jerry banfield.jpeg

Next down come the six paper lanterns and the Mac Pro.

F27F5909-AA9B-4128-A75B-7FB19B0E903F.jpeg

The sheer amount of cables is crazy.

EFAEA334-5074-44A5-8D59-52C762DDEAEC.jpeg

Hours more of disconnecting equipment and organizing provided this view while listening to Singularity by Jon Hopkins as recommended by @tomasgeorge.

studio teardown in progress.jpeg

In trying to control the sound, I bought a bunch of foam bass traps which in the Florida humidity proved challenging to stick to the wall. After trying several solutions which failed, I used spray glue which worked so well it ripped all the paint off the walls coming down. We can see the bass traps all stacked up in the corner in the back here. Taking two of them off that stuck with spray glue took almost an hour by itself.

jerry banfield studio almost moved.jpeg

With just moving down the street, I used a little dolly to move the standing desk down the road!

studio dolly.jpeg

Finally everything is ready to go! I drove it all down the street in my car when the shed I am building was ready for move in.

studio final out.jpeg

Weeks after the move we are still getting settled in and my studio is still not reassembled yet which is why my live witness updates have not been forthcoming the last several weeks. In the meantime, I am using this extra time to type and imagine the best system to help each other on Steem to prepare what I am thinking is the best post I have ever written in terms of adding value to Steem which I intend to publish in two or three days.

Fortunately this move has not impacted my witness servers at all because I trust witnesses with more experience coding to handle the day to day tasks of running the servers while I make decisions like hard for votes, price feed to use, etc. along with maintaining access and basic awareness to restart the server and make small changes myself as needed.

Witnessing for me and many of us is a team effort with one account being the witness and a huge amount of collaboration in everything else. I intend to do more live streams once the studio is back online and I appreciate you staying up to date here with me!

Love,
Jerry Banfield

Shared on:

Let's stay together?

Our Most Important Votes on Steem are for Witness!

Sort:  

Oh man, moving house is rough enough without an intricate setup like that to disassemble and reassemble at your new destination!
I feel for ya and wish you luck with rewiring, for that is a special kind of hell.

I think you should downsize. lol Congratulations on your new home.

Thanks for sharing the move, quite a big endeavor indeed!

That's awesome that you are moving down the road, it makes it easier. Now, we are waiting for photos when your studio is completed there.

Your workplace is great too

Must be enjoying every second of it :)

New home, new orientation. God bless your new home. Get on your keyboard and bring us some new stuff to read and learn from.

I feel for you Jerry, safe moving to you. I remember moving my wife's home studio (she used to do a live radio show) and it was a pain in the rear... not to mention time consuming because everything had to be labeled or reassembly would take three times longer...

Bright Blessings to you in your new home!

Look at the bright side. You have a mat every night. Thank you for the tips, Jerry.

Hope everything will be good for you!

so pro man, hope everything will be good for you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87