Depression: How To Deal With It (with steps).

in #life6 years ago (edited)


image source

Hey guys @jesse12 here.

Each time we're depressed, we see the doctor, we engaged our psychiatrist, we even spend time with loved ones and friends, we do all this just to over come depression but all to no avail.

In as much as you want to push the depression away, it just keep coming close with full force and energy. We might easily give up when all those depressed feelings like hopelessness, despair, languor, indifference at it's peak.

Irrespective of how you've read and watched a lot of movies to help ease away your depression but no one worked doesn't mean nothing will work at all.

The truth is that just because that advice was right for some people, that doesn’t necessarily mean it’s right for you.

Right in this article we'll glance at some solitary suggestions, tactics, strategies and techniques you can use to assist your depressed feelings, but first off let's look at some crucial points below.

You can overcome this

Regardless of how low you feel right now, when the depression looks like it won't go away and probably turning like a magnet to you, bear in mind that there are still lot's of things you can do to switch things around for good.

Apparently things might not be working the way you want, that's for sure, simple things that shouldn't concern you on the norms will look like an issue. Things like getting out of the bed early in the morning may demand a Herculean effort that you're not always able to muster.

All the same, that doesn't mean you should give up.


image source

Below are some practical steps and advice on how to avert depression when nothing seems to be working.


  • Create the right environment for recovery;
    When we go through depression, at that moment everything around us is irrelevant or useless, we let vital things like house chores and others fall by the wayside. Reason being either our physical environment is dirty, unclean, messy and this can probably worsen our state of mind. With that, we continue to disdain the house chores and thus the vicious cycle continues.

Aim at one thing at a time, even if it's just by the corner of the room. Without much exertion, do what you feel you have energy and passion for, with that you'll have a tidied, clean, neat, clutter-free space that's way more productive to overcome your depressed feeling.

What’s more, the sense of accomplishment you get from tidying up can do wonders for your self-esteem and provide a powerful boost to your mood.

  • Reduce your intake for sugar
    When we're deep in depression most of us consider that the only way to ease out the depression is eating food to make us feel better, but the naked truth is that by so doing were actually doing more damage than good.

One might be feeling a bit skeptical about that line but it's just the plain truth. When we take in processed foods like cookies, chocolates, candies junk foods and sugary cereals, we might probably get a temporary boost that makes us feel a bit rectified as a little amount of dopamine is released.

Researches have discovered that high intake of sugar might even lead to increased level of depression, having known this is better to avoid these listed sugary foods and apply the first point as stated in the first point.

Thanks for reading my post

Sort:  

High amount of sugar raises the blood glucose levels and increases the synthesis of many fatty acid molecules for which cholesterol is an example. This intermittently would cause high blood pressure and hence, depression

I can feel a life scientist here....
Hmmmm
Thanks for even making me understand it better...
Thanks a bunch.

I'll just advice such person to take hot tea and sleep. #on-a-lighter-mood
Awesome write up Jesse. Nicee

Lol I guess that works really well for you..... Thanks a bunch.

Regardless of how low you feel right now, when the depression looks like it won't go away and probably turning like a magnet to you, bear in mind that there are still lot's of things you can do to switch things around for good.

This got me like wow. Dope write-up bro. Keep up the inspiration.

♥ thanks so so much bro, more of this to come by the special grace of God Amen.

Depression is really a bad condition. Never knew high sugar intake increases the level of depression. Thanks for sharing this

Welcome my brother, thanks for stopping by.

Sugar is also important in our body as it helps to synthesised urine...
Excess cause harmful the body system...

Wat an educative post
#thanks for sharing this boss mi

Yes that's true, too much intake of sure is what's really bad, you're welcome bro,
Thanks for stopping by.

God bless the leader

Didn't know so much about getting rid of depressed feelings because I've really never been there or had closed pals in that situation but this your post is an eye opener as well as educative. Thanks @jesse12 for taking out time to do your research.

Thanks a bunch dear, thank God it did.

Great post dear, quality post is the surest way now o

I'm telling you oh, thanks.

Hello Jesse,

Yes ,Day today the depression is most commonly found in many people.

whenever I am in depression I do play with my pet.

Awwwnn playing with your pet!!... That's super cool though.

Being depressed is the worst feeling of all I did not know that following those steps could be overcome. I did all the contario ate sweets and drank alcohol. thanks for this post

Lol, I'm glad the post was really helpful.... Thanks for stopping by 😘

This is a life changing article and will infact assist a lot of people who are depressed.

When I was in depression I used to eat and drink a lot. It also resulted in me getting into some bad company and I ended up in a lot of trouble.

This is how I dealt with it. First of all I took control over my mind. I thought to myself that I was already in the worst state of my life mentally , there could'nt be a far more worse situation.

I took depression like a game of heart and mind. Usually people are depressed cause they are heart broken. I was in some deep depression when I brokeup.

I won the Game of depression by training my mind to go against the feelings of my heart. Two players in this game My Mind (thats me) and my opponent was the feelings of My heart (depression).

Whenever My heart told me to eat more sweets, drink alcohol or fall into more bad company , I trained My Mind to go in the opposite direction to eat fruits, drink tea and be alone rather than get into bad companionship. It was difficult in the beginning but later it became a lifestyle and now I am out of depression and show gratitude towards things that really mattered.

The Sense of winning over my depression really gave me more will power. Moreover I also used to pray a lot and by the grace of God , I have overcome the demons of my life Amen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76