CLOSING THE GAP

in #life6 years ago

Hello steemians you all welcome to my blog once again, today will be discussing a very crucial topic >>>>>

CLOSING THE GAP

Few day's ago, I found myself in a class, with a lad whom I found out to be 12 years of age; acquiring a skill I probably should have gotten over a decade ago. It was quite interesting when I discovered from our Interactions that he had the future ahead of him all planned by his parents. Happy with what I saw, I wished I had a similar opportunity when I was age 12, but my story was different.
Here I am in a class with someone I'm more than twice his age acquiring a complex knowledge-based skill. The consolation I had was what informed tonight's session. "CLOSING THE GAP
g.png.jpgimage source

For the purpose of clarity, I will make an attempt to explain the topic.
What does it mean to close the gap?

" closing the gap is a strategy that aims to reduce the disadvantages one had with respect to present events, situation and conditions as against ones expectations ".

Also for the purpose of uniformity, I would like to make bold that I find it convenient to proceed on Realistic expectations rather than ideal expectations because of the complexity that comes with ideal expectations

The reality of gaps

Much of life's pain stems from the gap between expectations and reality. “I wish I was in a blissful relationship , I wish I passed that interview, I should have been in the United States, I ought to have graduated with at least a Second class upper, and I'm miserable that I'm not. It's no use telling people what your expectations are. That's irrelevant and no comfortable sharing at all.” Both successful and perceived failures stems from the gap between expectations and reality, they are marvellous at raising expectations but as ineffective as the rest of us at improving reality.

How did we consciously/unconsciously creates gaps? (I'll list some)

  • Ignorance
  • Bandwagon effect
  • Accidents or unfortunate circumstances
  • Disappointment
  • Nonchalance
  • Indecision
  • Wrong choice/decisions
  • Limitations
  • Comfort Zone
  • No Ambition
  • Unplanned actions to pursue Interest
  • Impulsive Choice
  • Discouragement
  • Procrastination & Laziness
    and so on...

Some identified Areas where one could have gaps include

¶ Academics
¶ Finance (debts/Scarcity)
¶ Career
¶ Growth
¶ Health
¶ Relationship
¶ Spiritual life
¶ Family
¶ Fitness
¶ Knowledge

How can one identify gaps?
6a264ac5cb51f3b41ee5b33c336fcf00d911243ab62e9e53d50bca968d37a854.jpgimage credits

Inability to get ahead in the game

Lacking the necessary skills to do your job

Feelings of dryness

Enjoy the temporary comfort of Procrastination

Lack

Indebtedness

When satisfaction eludes someone

When one becomes a reference point for negativities

When one is far from operating at full capacity

When one is far behind his/her contemporaries

When one does not like his/her present status

When one looses opportunities too often because of a lack

When you find yourself always playing catch-up

.
.
.
and many more . . .

With our daily interactions, most of us find out is that there is a gap, perhaps in the short term, most certainly in the long term.

What can you do about it?

For the short term, re-prioritizing your task or portfolio might close the gap.

For the long term, you should consider conducting an assessment of your present condition, measure the perceived gaps and then embark on a Smart plan to identify opportunities you have missed and others are not currently considering then you take decisive actions towards closing identified gaps.

For the very long term, you should revisit your planning and create new future initiatives, to be defined later, that you have not yet considered. As time gets closer, you can begin ideation activities to gain definition of those initiatives. And as time gets closer still, you can begin funding of projects related to the select initiatives.

Note 👉🏽Identifying desires, understating reality and filling the gap is a continual cycle that never ends.

How to close these gaps

There is a saying that The best way to see a country, unless you’re pressed for time, is to travel on foot. We of course would like to navigate through all the process of closing percieved gaps but we are pressed for time. So I will quickly run through some of the process

How to close these gaps
identify-workforce-leadership-gaps-succession-planning.pngimage source

#Speed

The frustration many face when they attempt to close these gaps is the time this process takes. Because to heal the aches of chances missed takes time, and time being a fundamental quantity we have to factor out a way to close up percieved gaps.

From Elementary mechanics,

Speed = Distance /Time

Meaning,

Distance = Speed × Time

If The gap measured relates to Distance in mechanics the only realistic way to close this gap (distance) is to increase speed.

By increasing speed one may have to adopt all logical and moral approach that is sure to hasten progress.

#Acceptance

It is difficult to mitigate a challenge when one has not accepted that an important issue needs to be fixed. Acceptance is the first step towards redemption. It may sometimes become very difficult to admit to oneself of obvious gaps that needs to be closed. But the moment one accepts that there is a need to move ahead, redemption gets activated.

Measure the gaps

One may never be able to close the gap created if he/she have no idea of the damages, cost and the realistic sacrifice it will take. Measurements may be pretty difficult in a dynamic world but a simple question such as

Where am I suppose to be if I had taken the right steps?
What am I missing?
where am I now?
What will it take to get there?
I will have to hang it here. Thanks for having me, hope to see you again.

Please upvote comment and resteem @jessicool

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25